We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, ok room, nothing fancy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Michigan
Level Contributor
567 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Nice staff, ok room, nothing fancy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

We were to stay at the other BW hotel in Pismo Beach but had problems and moved here. Staff was VERY friendly. Room was ok, the bathroom had water damage on the door from the shower and lack of a vent, the water from bathroom leaked into the room causing the floor to be wet by the bathroom in the hall. Was like this when we checked in. Bed was comfortable. There was nothing special about the hotel, except the staff was very nice. The free breakfast was in a cramped room, limited selection of cold foods, but it served the purpose. It was below the class of place that we usually stay, but there is a very limited selection of hotels in this city.

  • Liked — Staff was so nice
  • Disliked — Rooms are very dated...
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MissMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    364
    79
    26
    22
See reviews for
378
651
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

Got a great rate on an ocean-view room. The motel is in very good condition. Nice room with balcony, plus a refrigerator and microwave. Large bathroom. Path to the beach. Only thing that could use improvement was the breakfast --- pretty basic continental. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank rubymonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2007

My wife and I decided to enjoy a quick trip to Pismo Beach. This Best Western was easy to find on a frontage road adjacent to Highway 101. The room was nice, clean and quiet with just the sounds of the ocean waves to enjoy in the evening. What a great view of the Pacific Ocean from the balcony of our room. The beach below was a safe 5-10 minute walk just a few steps from the place. Staff was helpful in recommending local restaurants for dinner as well as suggestions on where to go and explore. Breakfast featured a nice selection of healthy choices to enjoy and the breakfast eating area was so clean and well kept. Kudos to Ana who was most helpful and a delight to chat with during a our continental breakfast! We look forward to our next visit!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CECALT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2006

What a nice experience!! Hotel is charming and rooms overlook the ocean, with spectacular views. Rooms were very roomy with individual balconies or patios. The grounds are exceptionally well-kept and there is access to the beach via a stairway (though not the easiest of climbs). A hearty continental breakfast is provided in a nice breakfast room looking out to the pool/ocean and includes hard-boiled eggs; the breakfast staff were exceptionally accomodating when we arrived with only 5 minutes before they were supposed to close up. Price through the AAA rate was the best along the beach. There is a great pizza place (Del's) with a nice atmosphere and good prices just up the road in Shell Beach. This was a great overnight stay and I highly recommend this property.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank InteleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

Based on reviews from this website and a friend that travels to the area several times a year on business we booked a upstairs room for one mid-week night during the month of September. The room was very clean and spacious complete with cathedral ceilings and fireplace. All rooms are ocean view and have a sliding door/balcony facing the ocean, but the upstairs rooms allowed us to leave the sliding door open during the night to hear the ocean waves. The extra charge for the upstairs room was well worth it for this reason alone. Noise was not an issue for us as I don't believe anyone was next to us. The rooms are grouped in blocks of 4 with 2 upstairs and 2 downstairs, so everyone has at least one quiet wall. The continental breakfast downstairs next to the pool area was nice with a few options, but the area was small and seating limited. The landscaping surrounding the area was well maintained, complete with a gazibo overlooking the ocean and the path leading down the beach. We will definately stay here again on our next trip to Pismo Beach

  • Liked — Upper floor oceanview
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book upstairs room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Papalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

I don't understand all the raving reviews about the Shelter Cove. Maybe I had a room that didn't provide the view everybody is raving about??

Anyway, I found the Shelter Cove to be an "all right" place to stay. The rooms are spacious, so much so that the room doesn't feel cosy. There were several stains on the carpet in my room, so I can't really say they were super-clean.

The front desk missed my wake-up call.

There isn't a restaurant on property; it takes 10 minutes to walk to their recommended sister property's restaurant, and it's a steady incline the entire way.

But, the thing I didn't like about this property more than anything is that it's too far away from the Pismo Beach Pier (this is where the restaurants and shops are, and it's a quite darling village/town). Instead of walking to the pier (which is what you will really want to do when staying in Pismo), you'll have to drive. I would recommend selecting a property closer to the pier.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank kybusguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2006

The View is definately the highlight at this hotel. Very close to the beach. All rooms facing the ocean, not the 101 freeway. Everything orderly, clean, and pleasant. My wife and I had occasional noise issues with the neighbors. The floor made noises when people walked around the room above ours (#703), and we could hear conversations through the adjoining room doors as if they were paper-thin. Aside from that, great proximity to McClintock's and other nice restaurants. Short drive to Arroyo Grande, the Pismo Beach pier, and the Sand Dunes.

We wouldn't have paid the travel web site prices for this hotel. AAA had a smokin' "mid-week" deal. We'd stay there again, but next time we'll take the top floor.

  • Liked — View, Location Directly Above the Beach
  • Disliked — Occasional Noise Between Rooms, Not too big a deal
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay on the top floor (View, Security, No Noise From Above); AAA mid-week special
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dood636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing