We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Leandro, United States
1 review
“Overall a great experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I travel quite a bit for work, so whether I am traveling for work/ pleasure I am usually a little more critical of a room than my husband. Our stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove was phenomenal. Our room was a great size, vaulted ceilings, and we had a deck with 2 chairs and a table. After being out on the beach and riding ATVs we truly enjoyed relaxing on the deck watching the sunset. The bed and pillows were PERFECT...We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Elisa C,

We loved hearing how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. It sounds like you had a chance to relax and enjoy all of the amenities that we offer. We take great pride in our property and hearing that your stay was phenomenal is such wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    374
    87
    31
    22
See reviews for
390
698
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Shelter Cove Lodge is a great place to stay in Pismo Beach. Every room has an ocean view. Friendly service, free breakfast, great location! We've stayed here before and will return. There are lots of things to do in the area and the laid-back casual atmosphere makes for a fabulous getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank howefortunate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy you were able to enjoy our entire hotel and the laid-back atmosphere of the surrounding towns. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had just a few days to get away and I am very happy with my last min. choice. The little cove at the bottom of the hill was an awesome place to watch waves and hermit crabs.. The otters playing below the cliffs are cute to watch. Great view from the room and the place feels clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Marianne A,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a great review regarding The Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge on TripAdvisor. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your last minute trip and were able to experience some of our local wildlife, including the playing otters in our cove. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel has lovely water views and is just off Hwy 101. Althought it is not located downtown, it is still within a very short distance and for the enthusiastic walker a nice 15 minute stroll down to the center of it all is doable. Overall this hotel is nice, quiet and romantic. No wonder they have won many chain awards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Motters1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Motters1966, we were thrilled you chose to stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge during your recent trip to California. We are happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and it’s proximity to the downtown area. We hope to see you again when your travels return you to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It was my Fiance's Birthday weekend and we stayed Friday - Sunday. We were very lucky for the weather was beautiful and in the 70's. The location is very convenient just off the highway and easy access yet the sound was not noticeable in the room. The rooms were very nice and clean with a great balcony that look out to the ocean. The location along the ocean was really outstanding with walking trails along the beautiful coast. They provided a morning breakfast that very good. When staying in, we enjoyed the pool and spa area. In the evenings we watch some beautiful sunsets. We enjoyed our long weekend here and would certainly return and recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are happy that you allowed us to be part of your Fiancé’s birthday weekend and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed everything about your stay and were able to partake in all of the hotel amenities that we offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We loved our stay at the Shelter Cove Lodge. The view from our room was worth the stay. Even though we had alittle rain while we were there. It did'nt stop us from enjoying the beauty of our surroundings.Our room was very clean and the bed was so soft.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are pleased to hear that the rain did not keep you from enjoying our beautiful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I just loved the place from the moment we got here. Me and my girlfriend were on a road trip along the Pacific coast highway and choose Shelter Cove as our stop for the Valentine's day weekend. Everything during the stay was almost perfect.

We took one of the ocean view rooms and managed to get a manager discount for one day. However the second day was pretty expensive for us since it was the President's weekend. But what the hell, we decided to splurge and it was well worth it. The rooms were big, the view was gorgeous, Bed was comfy and bathrooms professionally clean. Another good thing I really liked was their well laid out complimentary continental breakfast. They had plenty of options to choose from (not just a namesake breakfast) and it tasted fresh and delicious. They have some contract with a local bakery so do try their muffins.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushant_jha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a great review regarding the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge on TripAdvisor. It is so delightful to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed our spacious rooms, the extended continental breakfast and your overall stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing