We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded hotel at Pismo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The renovations at Shelter Cove have made this an even better place to stay. The spacious rooms were updated, and the breakfast room is much more inviting. It's still very much Pismo Beach though. And the reasons tfor choosing this hotel are the ocean view and beach access. All rooms have a patio or balcony directly on the cliffs over the ocean. After checking in at four, we saw a flock of pelicans, otters just off shore and dolphins swimming by - all before 4:30 and from our balcony. The sunsets and sunrises are amazing. Easy trails lead around the property, out to a gazebo, and steeper trails go down to the beach. Our room was quiet and comfortable, with all the amenities you would expect. The location is north of most Pismo hotels. Although the highway is close, road noise withing the rooms isn't a problem. And if it is, open the sliding door to the balcony and listen to the ocean instead.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sbca2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you Sbca2010 for the glowing review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay with us, including the hotel amenities that we do offer. The dolphins and mammal wildlife are predominant this time of the year for the Central Coast and our property over the perfect viewing point to take it all in. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and thank you again for the wonderful review.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is idea for a visit in the Pismo Beach Area. However, the rooms are in need of some renovations, being somewhat dated. Yet, who spends that much time in a hotel room while in the neighborhood. Somewhat disappointed with the front desk staff as there was a lack of detail when it came to specific checkin requests that were agreed upon with the hotel's Assistant General Manager. Would consider the hotel for future travels based on location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LegacyHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. I am sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with the front desk staff when it came to your check in requests. Please know that we take your feedback to heart and are always focusing on improving. We are extremely happy to hear that we will have another opportunity to serve you and look forward to seeing you next time.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is a cozy place and very clean. This hotel serves breakfast and staff are friendly. The hotel is located next to a cliff with wonderful view. I recommend to stay there more than a day just site on the balcony and enjoy the weather, view, and sound of wave and birds...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dean A – Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that all of the staff you encountered during your stay were friendly and helpful. I am also happy to read that you had an opportunity to enjoy our local wildlife along with the wonderful views from our location. We hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge when your travels bring you back to the beautiful Pismo Beach area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this hotel in Pismo Beach for the second time. Right near downtown and to amazing restaurants. For the price the location and views are incredible. The ocean views rooms have absolutely amazing views. Watching the sunrise and sunsets from the balcony of our room is so worth it! And hotel has access the beach. WOW!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you Laura H. for the review of the hotel and your recent stay with us. We are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay, especially the views from the balcony and the private beach access. We look forward to the next time your travels bring you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Pros: Big room, big bed, big views and very caring staff, what more could we ask for. Also, with a balcony to watch perfect sunsets, to us was just the 'icing on the cake'. Cons: We pushed the boat out! Spent ten nights at Shelter Cove and yes it was expensive...$1687.00. When I asked for our 10% Seniors discount the receptionist had no way of applying a discount and we paid the full amount. This will influence our decision to stay there again. We feel strongly about this facility who needs such discounts to treat themselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. The Senior discount of 10% was applied to your stay prior to your check in, I offer my sincere apologies if this was not explained at the time you inquired. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss further. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great location overlooking the water, just north of the main oart of Pismo Beach and close to main roads. The rooms are very nice; top floor has a better viiew of the ocean though all rooms face it. Staff went above and beyond to help with specific needs about checkin and checkout. A fine experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Billkim607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Billkim607,
Thank you for your kind review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you had an opportunity to experience our staff going above and beyond during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a really nice stay here for an over-nighter.
The upper level king room is spacious and the layout is convenient for travelers (we travel with a kit including water heater, cups, plates, etc., and the room accommodated nicely).
The room has a fridge and microwave; wifi worked without dropouts.
Breakfast is basic standard included-breakfast fare; nice presentation.
The staff is friendly and I was informed that my interior car light was on by site security.
The grounds are kept up well, and there are a variety of close trails to explore the bluffs.
We enjoyed our stay and recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing the wonderful comments regarding your stay with us and for encompassing so many aspects of our hotel. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,113 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $175 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, The Inn at the Cove is the ideal destination for a retreat for real life. Escape your every day in our tranquil, oceanfront setting, and enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi, and unbeatable proximity to the Central Coast's famous wine country and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing