We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, United States
1 review
“Romantic and comfortable”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this hotel in Pismo Beach for the second time. Right near downtown and to amazing restaurants. For the price the location and views are incredible. The ocean views rooms have absolutely amazing views. Watching the sunrise and sunsets from the balcony of our room is so worth it! And hotel has access the beach. WOW!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you Laura H. for the review of the hotel and your recent stay with us. We are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay, especially the views from the balcony and the private beach access. We look forward to the next time your travels bring you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    377
    91
    31
    23
See reviews for
404
727
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Pros: Big room, big bed, big views and very caring staff, what more could we ask for. Also, with a balcony to watch perfect sunsets, to us was just the 'icing on the cake'. Cons: We pushed the boat out! Spent ten nights at Shelter Cove and yes it was expensive...$1687.00. When I asked for our 10% Seniors discount the receptionist had no way of applying a discount and we paid the full amount. This will influence our decision to stay there again. We feel strongly about this facility who needs such discounts to treat themselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. The Senior discount of 10% was applied to your stay prior to your check in, I offer my sincere apologies if this was not explained at the time you inquired. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss further. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuolumne, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great location overlooking the water, just north of the main oart of Pismo Beach and close to main roads. The rooms are very nice; top floor has a better viiew of the ocean though all rooms face it. Staff went above and beyond to help with specific needs about checkin and checkout. A fine experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Billkim607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Billkim607,
Thank you for your kind review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you had an opportunity to experience our staff going above and beyond during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydesville, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a really nice stay here for an over-nighter.
The upper level king room is spacious and the layout is convenient for travelers (we travel with a kit including water heater, cups, plates, etc., and the room accommodated nicely).
The room has a fridge and microwave; wifi worked without dropouts.
Breakfast is basic standard included-breakfast fare; nice presentation.
The staff is friendly and I was informed that my interior car light was on by site security.
The grounds are kept up well, and there are a variety of close trails to explore the bluffs.
We enjoyed our stay and recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing the wonderful comments regarding your stay with us and for encompassing so many aspects of our hotel. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at Shelter Cover Lodge for two nights, October 3rd and 4th.
We found the room to be very spacious and well equipped. The view was amazing. I believe every room has a patio or a balcony with a view of the ocean. Our view was panoramic -- ocean in every direction. Also, we were right at a path that allowed us to walk north along the coast to a park where people were practicing Tai Chi (I believe) and another group appeared to be in Boot Camp. Great location!
The pool and hot tub looked inviting, but we didn't get to enjoy those amenities due to our schedule. While we were very happy with our stay, the 3 things that could be improved were: the mattress (a bit squeaky), the insulation between room (ours was a connecting room, and those are hard to insulate since there is just the door in between), and, OK, I thought the breakfast was fine, just nothing special. These areas did not rise to the level of being complaints. We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDand2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review, MDand2k, we loved having you here. I'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the surrounding area, the private balcony with the panoramic ocean views and the Dinosaur Caves Park next door to us. We also value your feedback on how you feel we may improve and thank you for taking a moment to share with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the Pismo Beach area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The location is incredible, and the hotel is very good. Very nice facilities and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Very close to premium outlets. The hotel is near the road but it isn't noisy. There is a jacuzzi by the pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a terrace, with chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Pepichka,
Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your entire stay with us and that you found our staff to be so friendly. We hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Check when you book fine prints might have you book at Govt rate and then you are forced to accept the current rate at the hotel. The breakfast is not good at all I have stayed at many places and this one is got to be at the bottom of the pit. The staff is ok do not expect spectacular service The location is very good right next to the ocean yet away from the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Shuaib S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you Shuaib S for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us and we use all guest feedback to implement improvements. We always strive to offer the best experience possible to all of our valuable guests. I am very sorry about the confusion you experienced regarding your rate when booking. I wanted to take a moment to further clarify, our government rate is offered as a special option to those that are in the area for work and whom are able to provide us with government ID. This special rate is located only under our state provincial/government rate option on our website and we again offer our apologies for any confusion regarding this rate.

It is always our goal as a team to exceed our guests’ expectations during their stay. I am very pleased that we were able to accommodate a special rate for you during your visit, although we were unable to honor the state government employee rate. We again would like to thank you for your feedback and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with a lasting superior experience. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future bookings; it would be my pleasure to assist you with details of your next reservation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,668 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
824 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing