We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, TX
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location/great hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. Large and comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Bed was very comfortable, great chairs on the balcony, convenient microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast was good and convenient. Pool was large and spa was hot. Location is fantastic along a large beach access route that is not crowded--at least in the off season. Will definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank wwbbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Wwbbd – thank you for choosing our hotel and for the recent review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the large room with balcony, the beach access and the extended continental breakfast that we offer. We hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge in the future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    377
    91
    31
    23
See reviews for
404
727
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

great location overlooking the pacific ocean. large room with balcony and ocean view great walkaround over ocean and walkaways down to beach very helpful staff two computer terminals in lobby for free use of guests

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Sarah B. for your recent stay with us and your glowing review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We look forward to your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place to stay! Every room faces the ocean with a balcony to sit out and enjoy watching the sea and the sunsets! We saw a pod of dolphin, many sea birds and even a resident hawk on the property. The staff is friendly and helpful and the room is comfortable with a decent bed, nice desk area and a table and chairs. Like having a refrigerator and microwave as well as a coffee maker. Location is close to downtown and many other attractions in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank leeannie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Leeannie28, thank you for your recent stay and the wonderful review of The Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the amenities of the room including the ocean view and the local wildlife.We hope to welcome you back again when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel the location look amazing and when we arrived it did not disappoint I was thrilled. The views to die for great chairs on the terrace and a squirel when I opened the curtains first thing. The staff were friendly helpful,rooms were quite large the pool was great just must must go back soon I hope. Otters swimming nearby just idyllic also great restaurant within walking distance when can I go back.Dream Dream

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avrilwiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your visit, from the views to the friendliness of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the area if your travels bring you back to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, nm, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Loved the room layout & furnishings including the balcony! Great sights and sounds of the ocean, w/ a pod of dolphins, two vultures and even a visiting racoon. Gorgeous sunsets on three nights -- full moon at night shining on the ocean -- memorable! The "but" -- there is no private beach! After a long, steep descent, only a rocky area that "may have been" a beach ten years ago. That notwithstanding (forget the "breakfast" also), we had probably the best room at this location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Fil C. for your recent stay with us and the great review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the awesome wildlife and incredible views that we offer from our property. We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely spacious room, incredible view of the ocean and beach. The grounds are beautiful with walkways along the cliffs and even a "stairway" down to a solitary rocky beach. So convenient to everything in the area - Avila Beach, Pismo Beach, and if you have children, delightful Dinosaur Park is within walking distance. From our balcony, we watched a mama, papa and baby pelican on the rocks below us. Saw dolphins dipping gracefully in and out of the water. Glorious sunset. What more could you want!

Room Tip: Loved being on the second floor - which was actually parking lot level. Greater ocean view from ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarajan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the size of your accommodations and the incredible views that we offer. We have been noticing a large amount of dolphins splashing around and that should continue through October. We hope to see you again when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to attend a wedding near this location. The location of this Hotel is excellent. It is a 20 minute walk to Downtown Pismo Beach. We walked along the Beach and it was a very nice walk. The area is extremely clean and we felt very safe. All the rooms have balcony views but I would recommend paying a little extra to not be on the bottom floor. The free breakfast they have is good for free. Not just a continental but pancakes, breakfast sandwiches along with fruit, cereals, and different breads and rolls. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Kelly K- thank you for the perfect review of our location. We are glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, especially the cleanliness and safety of our hotel. We thank you for you highly recommending the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge and look forward to welcoming both of you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,668 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
824 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing