We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at the Cove
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shell Beach Inn(Shell Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn by the Sea(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kon Tiki Inn(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentina Suites(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveler rating
1,010
421
104
36
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,010
421
104
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe upper levelocean viewsea ottersgreat viewrooms are largeyogurtroad noisebreakfast roomthe cliffventana grillshort drivecentral coastupon checkfree breakfastbeautiful locationstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,207 - 1,212 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I know it is on the ocean..so that helps, but both the Shelter Cove and the ShoreCliff (right next door to each other) are superior in nearly every aspect. (Just found out they are the same owner too) I will certainly continue to make these two hotels my first choice when working in the California Central Coast Area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your visit and will be choosing us to stay with us with your work returns you to the Central Coast area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is clean, spacious and right by the water cliff. Ideal for a family in a budget that appreciate the ocean. We stayed in a two beds room, high ceiling and parking is convenient. I would stay at this hotel again whenever I visit Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Lyn C.,
Thank you for the pleasant response regarding your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night in late August 2013 during a California road trip. We had a ground floor room at the end of the building which had great sea views, but all rooms overlook the coastline in any event. Good points - Room was spacious, two double beds and plenty of room, very clean and well maintained, the down side was that outside the balcony area was rubbish, cigarette ends and old lighters that let the place down. These were obviously left by other visitors which is a shame as it let the place down. There are fabulous walks around the coast and wildlife such as whales (too far out but had been in the bay the day before) pelicans, dolphins, sea otters, seals and an abundance of other wildlife. A short drive into town where there are plenty of shops and cafes/restaurants. Breakfast at the hotel is complimentary, plenty of fare to chose from and it was very clean and the staff tidied up straight away - no food swept on the floor for later here, all cleaned away straight away. Nice pool, secure and safe with some rooms giving direct access to the poolside. No lifts and steps to negotiate so be aware if not too mobile. Plenty of free parking (get a permit at the desk) Friendly staff, but watch the weekend rates as the prices rise considerably.
Overall a good stay at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms good, but views are more restricted. Upper floor may give better views, but no lift and whether upper or lower floor you will have to negotiate some steps. Week day rates better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Trudledoo, thank you for your recent kind review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the size of our rooms to the marine wild life. We look forward to your next visit and please let us know if we can assist with future reservations.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This is now my 3rd stay at this amazing place. I stay here, or at the Best Western Shore Cliff, just a few hundred yards south...majority of my business trips. Both hotels are 5 Star, when it comes to location, cleanliness, friendliness of housekeepers and front desk staff. Inclusive complimentary breakfast is fantastic (I want the automatic pancake maker for my home!). Rooms are extremely spacious, towels are soft, beds are super comfortable ( and I can listen to the waves if I want/see the water from my bed in every room I've stayed in!). Views from balcony are incredible. Every other guest on property seems so friendly and in such a great mood...probably due to the breath-taking atmosphere and wonderful hotel staff that takes care of this place 24/7. Can't wait to return...and hope next trip will be for vacation/pleasure!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hello Patrick H and thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Best Western Shelter Cove. We are so happy to continuously welcome you back to our hotel and the Best Western Shore Cliff. We appreciate all of the wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you back for your vacation/pleasure visit.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room cost me $199. For this we had traffic noise, a feeling that people were able to walk off the street and knock our room door, and the worst breakfast in a hotel I have ever experienced, when one was included in the cost.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews