We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus Shelter Grove Lodge is just right for the bucks I paid plus much more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Western Plus Shelter Grove Lodge is just right for the bucks I paid plus much more.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is clean, spacious and right by the water cliff. Ideal for a family in a budget that appreciate the ocean. We stayed in a two beds room, high ceiling and parking is convenient. I would stay at this hotel again whenever I visit Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lyn C.,
Thank you for the pleasant response regarding your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    375
    88
    31
    22
See reviews for
396
716
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night in late August 2013 during a California road trip. We had a ground floor room at the end of the building which had great sea views, but all rooms overlook the coastline in any event. Good points - Room was spacious, two double beds and plenty of room, very clean and well maintained, the down side was that outside the balcony area was rubbish, cigarette ends and old lighters that let the place down. These were obviously left by other visitors which is a shame as it let the place down. There are fabulous walks around the coast and wildlife such as whales (too far out but had been in the bay the day before) pelicans, dolphins, sea otters, seals and an abundance of other wildlife. A short drive into town where there are plenty of shops and cafes/restaurants. Breakfast at the hotel is complimentary, plenty of fare to chose from and it was very clean and the staff tidied up straight away - no food swept on the floor for later here, all cleaned away straight away. Nice pool, secure and safe with some rooms giving direct access to the poolside. No lifts and steps to negotiate so be aware if not too mobile. Plenty of free parking (get a permit at the desk) Friendly staff, but watch the weekend rates as the prices rise considerably.
Overall a good stay at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms good, but views are more restricted. Upper floor may give better views, but no lift a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Trudledoo, thank you for your recent kind review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the size of our rooms to the marine wild life. We look forward to your next visit and please let us know if we can assist with future reservations.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This is now my 3rd stay at this amazing place. I stay here, or at the Best Western Shore Cliff, just a few hundred yards south...majority of my business trips. Both hotels are 5 Star, when it comes to location, cleanliness, friendliness of housekeepers and front desk staff. Inclusive complimentary breakfast is fantastic (I want the automatic pancake maker for my home!). Rooms are extremely spacious, towels are soft, beds are super comfortable ( and I can listen to the waves if I want/see the water from my bed in every room I've stayed in!). Views from balcony are incredible. Every other guest on property seems so friendly and in such a great mood...probably due to the breath-taking atmosphere and wonderful hotel staff that takes care of this place 24/7. Can't wait to return...and hope next trip will be for vacation/pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Patrick H and thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Best Western Shelter Cove. We are so happy to continuously welcome you back to our hotel and the Best Western Shore Cliff. We appreciate all of the wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you back for your vacation/pleasure visit.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room cost me $199. For this we had traffic noise, a feeling that people were able to walk off the street and knock our room door, and the worst breakfast in a hotel I have ever experienced, when one was included in the cost.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for informing us of your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our first time in Pismo Beach & hopefully not our last ! Arrived around 5.30pm after driving down PCH from San Francisco, had reserved our room a few months ago online so checking in was no problem & very quick, lady who checked us in was very helpful & friendly.

Then to our room 516, which is on the end so no noise of people walking by which is great & when we opened the door WOW !! The room was huge, very clean & when you open the doors to head out on to the balcony the view is spectacular ........... Wish we had more than 1 night there, still have to go back now.

We didn't try the breakfast as I had been dreaming of Old West Cinnamon rolls since we decided to stay in Pismo Beach, so we walked down there the next morning - If you love Cinnamon Rolls then don't miss this place, best I've ever had but could only manage one covered in pecans & frosting - why didn't we get some to go, oh well another excuse to go back :o)

Could not fault this hotel at all or the people that work there - Thank you all !

Room Tip: 516 was huge with a great view & the lady checking us out said it was her favourite for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Alison P, thank you for your recent stay and the wonderful review of The Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the size of the room, the spectacular view and the cleanliness of room 516. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and we are pleased to hear that we did so with you. Our staff are all also fans of the Old West Cinnamon rolls. We hope to welcome you back again when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we paid for an ocean front room and got put in room 509 by the pool on the lower level. I would not consider this an ocean view room at all. Maybe a partial view at best an that was stretching it!!! We checked in at check in time and they informed us all other guest had already checked in, really in 20 minutes since you were able to check in all guest had done so? So to say the least i was disappointed that a $300 a night room which is over priced had no view like was advertised, nor was April at the front desk helpful or accommodating. Very disappointed to say the least!!

Room Tip: anything on upper level, lower levels are not ocean view as they state, at least not in the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uccase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the review. We do strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and it appears as though we fell short of this goal. Your feedback is important as it helps us improve our operations. We do have a variety of ocean view rooms and are very pleased to accommodate any specific requests to the best of our ability, unfortunately during this time of year our availability is often extremely limited. We again want to apologize for your experience being less than satisfactory and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may have the opportunity ensure we are able to leave you with a lasting good impression of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a sweet, cozy hotel with each room overlooking the ocean. Staff was friendly and rooms were incredibly clean. I would recommend this hotel over the pricey hotels in the area. Quaint, simple and spectacular views! Get an upstairs room, the view is even better!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 412 and the view was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
IIa2013, thank you for your kind words about the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and friendliness of our staff. We are extremely happy to read that we met your expectations on all levels. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,890 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
807 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing