We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room cost me $199. For this we had traffic noise, a feeling that people were able to walk off the street and knock our room door, and the worst breakfast in a hotel I have ever experienced, when one was included in the cost.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for informing us of your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    385
    92
    32
    23
See reviews for
416
742
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our first time in Pismo Beach & hopefully not our last ! Arrived around 5.30pm after driving down PCH from San Francisco, had reserved our room a few months ago online so checking in was no problem & very quick, lady who checked us in was very helpful & friendly.

Then to our room 516, which is on the end so no noise of people walking by which is great & when we opened the door WOW !! The room was huge, very clean & when you open the doors to head out on to the balcony the view is spectacular ........... Wish we had more than 1 night there, still have to go back now.

We didn't try the breakfast as I had been dreaming of Old West Cinnamon rolls since we decided to stay in Pismo Beach, so we walked down there the next morning - If you love Cinnamon Rolls then don't miss this place, best I've ever had but could only manage one covered in pecans & frosting - why didn't we get some to go, oh well another excuse to go back :o)

Could not fault this hotel at all or the people that work there - Thank you all !

Room Tip: 516 was huge with a great view & the lady checking us out said it was her favourite for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Alison P, thank you for your recent stay and the wonderful review of The Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the size of the room, the spectacular view and the cleanliness of room 516. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and we are pleased to hear that we did so with you. Our staff are all also fans of the Old West Cinnamon rolls. We hope to welcome you back again when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we paid for an ocean front room and got put in room 509 by the pool on the lower level. I would not consider this an ocean view room at all. Maybe a partial view at best an that was stretching it!!! We checked in at check in time and they informed us all other guest had already checked in, really in 20 minutes since you were able to check in all guest had done so? So to say the least i was disappointed that a $300 a night room which is over priced had no view like was advertised, nor was April at the front desk helpful or accommodating. Very disappointed to say the least!!

Room Tip: anything on upper level, lower levels are not ocean view as they state, at least not in the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uccase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the review. We do strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and it appears as though we fell short of this goal. Your feedback is important as it helps us improve our operations. We do have a variety of ocean view rooms and are very pleased to accommodate any specific requests to the best of our ability, unfortunately during this time of year our availability is often extremely limited. We again want to apologize for your experience being less than satisfactory and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may have the opportunity ensure we are able to leave you with a lasting good impression of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a sweet, cozy hotel with each room overlooking the ocean. Staff was friendly and rooms were incredibly clean. I would recommend this hotel over the pricey hotels in the area. Quaint, simple and spectacular views! Get an upstairs room, the view is even better!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 412 and the view was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
IIa2013, thank you for your kind words about the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and friendliness of our staff. We are extremely happy to read that we met your expectations on all levels. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock, ca.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a brief getaway and I will definitely return!! This is not a 4 star hotel, but they have a 5 star view. Staff was friendly and courteous, room was clean and comfortable, and there was a balcony that afforded us an excellent view of the cove that it overlooks. Breakfast was okay, but I didn't have high expectations for the price we were paying.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnmarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you, rnmarci for your recent review and stay with us at the Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear you were met with friendly, courteous staff. We take pride on both this and the cleanliness of our rooms. We hope to welcome you again when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Best Western Shelter Cove is the perfect hotel for us when ever we visit the Central Coast. The hotel staff is very professional and caring. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The view from each room is "Spectacular"! This hotel is centrally located to all the places we like to visit and our favorite restaurants in the area. Do yourself a favor and book a room here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Steve G. for your continued stays with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear you have been able to enjoy our location to the local restaurants and our gorgeous rooms. We strive to exceed every guest’s expectations and it sounds like we have done that with you. We look forward to seeing you again when your next visit brings you to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were extremely happy we found this property. We had a first floor unit with great ocean views. The room are quite large and have small decks that offer high chairs for great viewing. We found the rooms to be in good condition and clean. Even though this hotel sits next to the highway no noise is heard in the rooms. The breakfast provided was more than enough. We found the staff to be very helpful. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meharizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Greetings meharizona and thank you for your recent review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are extremely happy to hear you found our staff to be helpful and our hotel to be in good condition. We have to agree with you that our ocean views are absolutely great and are pleased that you were able to enjoy them from your balcony. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,692 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
831 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing