We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved it here!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I rarely give a hotel a 5 and rarely a 4 but this one really deserves a 4.5. We arrived in Pismo with our 2 dogs late Sunday morning to visit with some family members and stopped by the hotel for the off chance we could check in. The staff was very nice and told us they have a guaranteed check in at 4 pm. I asked if we could possibly get an earlier check in and she offered to call me when the room was ready, which we appreciated. She did call me about 2:30 and off we went to check in to room 807 on the lower level. The room was very spacious and smelled new. All the rooms had recently been renovated. Beautiful view of the ocean and the weather was just fabulous! Nice big bathroom with granite countertops. The rooms and bathroom were both very clean. Big double French door closet with ironing board & iron. Refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot topped off the amenities. All the rooms are ocean view and each have a little balcony with 2 high boy chairs and a table. It was very convenient for us to take our dogs out to do their business as the hotel had a dog area complete with a ‘Mutt Mitt’ station.

At night the room was very quiet and the room darkened nicely. The bed was firm but not too firm and we slept good. Great walking trail behind the hotel that meanders along the ocean and right to a park where we walked the dogs to.
Breakfast comes with the room and the food was decent. They had the usual offerings of coffee, milk, juices, fruits, cereal and pancakes too. They also had these individual wrapped breakfast sandwiches that you could microwave that were surprisingly good!

We plan on coming back in September and can’t wait! We made the reservations online and called today to change the dates so we could go earlier but the hotel said the room rates just went up. We could change the dates but at the higher rate but decided to keep what we had at the $161.00 price.

The only reason I gave this hotel a 4.5 and not a 5 was that there was a tall window on the south side of the room that was badly water stained and you could barely see out. Would have been nice to have been able to see through the window!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Meechmom,
Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us. We enjoy welcoming our furry guests to our pet friendly rooms and are pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed all of the amentites that we offer in the rooms, including the newly renovated guest rooms. We truly appreciate all of your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    374
    87
    31
    22
See reviews for
391
702
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been here many times with our family. But this time it was just my husband and I. It was for our anniversary. It was short but good. April was the person that check us in.she was very friendly. If you want quite and away from the pool. The building 800 is where you want to be. We will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Kaishy,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. We are delighted we could welcome you and your husband back to celebrate your anniversary with us. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the front desk staff so friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you return to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in Pismo Beach. I've stayed at fancier, more expensive hotels in the area, but none of them can beat the location or the view. As an added bonus, the hotel sits above a hidden cove that has a cave-like rock at its entrance that delightfully magnifies the thunder and reverberation of the waves when struck just right. It's also private and has nice tide pools at low tide. The cove is a bit dicey to get to and not recommended for those not steady on their feet. Every single room at the hotel has an amazing ocean view, which is more than I can say for some of the pricey places. Who needs frills when you have a porch with a view and the lullaby of the surf.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level have a slightly better view and nice high vaulted ceilings. If you're g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhKellyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
OhKellyTravels, thank you for taking the time to write your review and letting us know about your stay. We are so thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the private cove just below the hotel. We offer many amenities here at the Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge, but the views from each of our rooms is one of the most breathtaking in the area. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have stayed in PIsmo for many years and have stayed in many of the hotels along the beach. For the price this hotel can't be beat, newly renovated, rooms all have ocean views, clean and upstair rooms have really high ceilings. Microwave and mini fridge were nice too. Simple breakfast, muffins, pancakes, fruit, etc. Nice secluded beach area at the end of a trail from the hotel. Really peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the newly renovated hotel along with all of the amenities that we offer. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed the beautiful and tranquil views from our property. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent hotel with great views of the ocean from the balcony. Staff was friendly. If you're looking for a nice quiet place to stay with a great view, this is the place. No beach for swimming at the Hotel but it is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear James Z.,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the property and were met by our friendly staff. We do offer a private cove just behind the hotel for our guests use, please feel free to ask about this during your next visit. We hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Shelter Cove in the near future.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Here for one night, and won't return. Views are incredible, but next to pool and its 2am and gates have been slamming all night. Bed is horribly uncomfortable. Far too expensive for no sleep, regardless of view!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeplessinpismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay with us. We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not get a good night’s sleep. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We took a trip up the west coast of California and Pismo beach was one of our stops. We found this hotel through hotels.com on special and booked it for one night. It was our cheapest hotel on our trip, but it turned out to be the best one!!

There's not much nearby so you'll want a car to drive into town to get lunch/dinner but they have a pretty standard breakfast with toast, bagels, muffins, pancakes, juice, coffee... pretty standard, but good.

Make sure you ask for a good ocean view, some of the lower level rooms are on the pool (which was great for a family who was there who seemed to live in the pool), but we had a great view from the second floor (only two levels) over the cliffs and out to the ocean. It was likely one of the most beautiful views of our trip!! And there were dolphins swimming out front when we woke up the next morning!

Staff was friendly and wifi worked well. Pool and hot tub looked west. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starlyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room on the upper level and that you were able to see so much of our local marine life. At the Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge, we strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and are extremely pleased to hear that we did so with you. Thank you again for the glowing review, we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to California.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing