We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views! Love, love, love!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We took a trip up the west coast of California and Pismo beach was one of our stops. We found this hotel through hotels.com on special and booked it for one night. It was our cheapest hotel on our trip, but it turned out to be the best one!!

There's not much nearby so you'll want a car to drive into town to get lunch/dinner but they have a pretty standard breakfast with toast, bagels, muffins, pancakes, juice, coffee... pretty standard, but good.

Make sure you ask for a good ocean view, some of the lower level rooms are on the pool (which was great for a family who was there who seemed to live in the pool), but we had a great view from the second floor (only two levels) over the cliffs and out to the ocean. It was likely one of the most beautiful views of our trip!! And there were dolphins swimming out front when we woke up the next morning!

Staff was friendly and wifi worked well. Pool and hot tub looked west. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room on the upper level and that you were able to see so much of our local marine life. At the Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge, we strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and are extremely pleased to hear that we did so with you. Thank you again for the glowing review, we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to California.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped here for one night at the start of a long tour of the US. We had stayed in Pismo Beach a few years ago at another place and to our relief Shelter Cove fully met our expectations. We had a sea view room with small balcony at the northern end of the hotel and it provided everything we needed. The room was quiet and well appointed and the beds exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, nothing special, but the hotel location and the opportunity to stroll around the grounds afterwards made our brief stay pleasantly memorable.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is away from the pool/breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Richard M.,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that we met your expectations and that you were able to enjoy the grounds and surrounding area of our hotel property. We hope to welcome you again when you and your family travel back to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first time staying at this resort and we loved it. The view was incredible and the room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was good and filling to get my family started for our day. I would recommend this hotel. The only down side is that is was not walking distance to any shops or restaurants. But there was a park within walking distance for my kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Corine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you Corine S. for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear you loved your stay with us along with the incredible views and spacious rooms. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel and are pleased you were able to experience this. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I asked and paid for an ocean view room. What I got was off the pool area. The filter motor was so noisy, I couldn't hear any surf and had to leave the window closed, which left traffic noise from the nearby 101.
Also, the door from the pathway back to the pool area was broken, which meant a long walk around the perimeter to get back to my room.

Room Tip: The nearby Shore Cliff Lodge is much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKD-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

I wanted to take this time to personally apologize for your recent experience with us. We strive to provide the best quality service and enhanced experience for each and every guest. Although our hotel is ocean front and each room offers a view, we do understand that individual guests may have their own specific requests for room locations. We are very pleased to accommodate specific requests to the best of our ability and it is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and provide you with a lasting good experience. Please feel free to contact us directly when booking your next stay so that we may ensure that we are able to note any requests you may have. I would like to again extend our sincere apologies and we hope to see during your next visit to the Pismo Beach area.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

this was my second stay at shelter cove. i will always return to this hotel every time i go to california because of the breathtaking views, excellent breakfast and cleanliness. DONT MISS AN OPPORTUNITY TO VACATION HERE !!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you Tara Z. for staying with us and we are so pleased to hear that you will always return to our hotel when you come back to California. We appreciate the kind words about our views, cleanliness and breakfast. We can not wait to welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge when you return to California.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent for relaxing - Fabulous views-we had friends with us who loved the walking trails and the sounds of the ocean. I enjoyed the peaceful feeling that the surroundings evoked. The rooms were large and the balcony was a bonus we were not expecting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you Kathy R. for your glowing review of our property and surrounding area. We are pleased you and your friends were able to relax and enjoy the private balcony on your room. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is very well located at the clifs of the Californian Coast in between LA and SF. Nice swimming pool, all hotel rooms have Ocean view and are clean, spacious and well equiped. The hotel has no bar or dining room. The breakfast is very basic and is served in a too small room for the number of guests and therefore not very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ClaudeH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you ClaudeH5 for your recent stay with us and for the nice comments about our pool area. We are pleased you enjoyed the ocean views that all of our guest rooms provide, along with the cleanliness of our property. We are sorry to hear that you found breakfast room to be less than satisfactory. Your feedback is extremely valuable and we thank you for sharing with us. Thank you again and we hope to see you when your travels bring you back to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,113 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $175 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, The Inn at the Cove is the ideal destination for a retreat for real life. Escape your every day in our tranquil, oceanfront setting, and enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi, and unbeatable proximity to the Central Coast's famous wine country and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing