We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a special surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a special surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel in Santa Maria was full, it was by accident that we booked at this hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was amazing, (loved the balcony and the view, and the extra's they have to make the room more comfortable) , the breakfast was great. But our favorite part was the beach access.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are so delighted to hear that you loved our beautiful views, beach access and complementary amenities such as in room items and breakfast. We are also very pleased to hear you kind words about our staff, we as a team do our very best to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant experience during their stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for another wonderful experience very soon.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    361
    79
    26
    22
See reviews for
375
649
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here rather than in San Luis Obispo for our daughter's graduation. The room was big and clean - bed very comfortable. We loved hanging out on the balcony with a glass of coffee in the morning or wine in the evening. Took a daily jaunt down to the tide pools - just beautiful.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate, but we chose the hotel for the view -not the free breakfast. As someone else mentioned, a full-length mirror would be nice! All in all this is a great, friendly, beautiful place to stay and I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the complex, but we were in 702 and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyDink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and providing us feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the spacious room, balcony and beach access. We also appreciate you taking the time to compliment the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Pismo Beach area.

Sincerely,
Kalie Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

great service and clean rooms. loved the little balcony with outstanding ocean view. The convenience of the microwave and refrigerator made our eating expenses more affordable although we love to eat out too. It was just a short drive to our favorite restaurants. We loved the peacefulness and did not want to leave, but no more reservations available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you found our accommodations to be clean and comfortable, in addition to our wonderful customer service. We pride ourselves on the abundance of amenities that we offer along with our outstanding ocean views. We are sorry to heat that we were unable to accommodate you staying with us longer, but hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Shelter Cove again very soon.

Sincerely,
Kalie Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The rooms were very expensive for what you get. Very disappointed in the breakfast. Other best westerns we've stayed at have freshly cooked sausage, bacon, eggs, wonderful waffles. I was told the manager had a run in with the waffle people so they quit having them. Too sad since they were so good. It was almost impossible to get towels for the pool. He pool was too cold to go in anyway. The staff was not very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Glennajanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here and loved the view! The room was decent but didn't find it fitting the price but at least it was clean. The staff was great, too! We enjoyed our stay but probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieWednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and found our staff to be so great. We often have specials available for specific dates, auto club members, return guests, etc. and would be very pleased to assist you in finding a date and special rate that works best for your next trip. We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you back to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Kalie Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Drove from San Francisco along the Californian 1 Highway road to Pismo fantastic drive, stayed here with my husband. Lovely place to stay, great views from our room, walked to Pismo beach Pier in the evening to dine, some nice little shops there, took us around 40 minutes. Pismo is lively at night with several places offering live music and it's great to watch the surfers in the evening. Would have no hesitation returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location, views and the local night life. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kalie Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here two night in May excellent remodeled rooms with great views. Loved the hotel. Would come back ina heart beat. Great location. Great views. The remodel was just finishing up when we got there. The first night the lobby and check in was still in a room. The breakfast room was not finished by the time we left.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aco44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and providing us with feedback from your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your two night stay and our great views. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing