We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

pet friendly hotel carpet could have been cleaner however no dog odor. Bed very hard I am used to a pillow top mattress linens very worn. No light switch to turn balcony light on or off. requested towels and got good service check in went well in a make shift office, construction in progress. an new look with beautiful cool colors.

Room Tip: no light switch to turn light on or off on balcony. Property being remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and comments about your experience. Cleanliness is a top priority for us and we have informed our housekeeping staff of the issue you have described to mitigate similar problems in the future. We are glad you found our guest service agents helpful and friendly. We hope to welcome you back to our property soon so you can see first hand all of the renovations we have been working on!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

this hotel is just fantastic. We were in the area for an extended time on business and we called this hotel after our apartment fell through. The location is beautiful...the design of the hotel is perfect for the site along the ocean. All rooms have ocean front views and access. The staff is just great and helpful and friendly. Everyone helped make our stay a great experience. The rooms are clean and large. Very quiet and safe; fun to walk around the property. There is a park nearby for families and restaurants nearby. The town of Pismo Beach is very close and accessible.
I highly recommend this hotel.....we have stayed there on two occasions and absolutely love it.
Great value for the price. Rooms are in the process of being renovated now in time for this spring/summer...it will look fantastic. The bed is also just perfect.

Room Tip: I don't think you can make a mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Shelter Cove Lodge. We appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that our staff members were able to make your experience a memorable one. We are also very excited to unveil all of the renovations we have been working on during the off-season! We hope to welcome you back to our property soon to show off all of the upgrades we have been working on!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As you might surmise from the title of my review, I am a Best Western Diamond Elite member. These little hotel reward programs are never rewarding enough to make you go out of your way to stay at a particular hotel chain, but it is just good business to recognize your best customers even if in a small way. The only real benefit I have as a Best Western Diamond Elite member is a welcome snack and drink, and an upgrade to the best available room.

At this motel, all their rooms are ocean front. The only difference is that top floor rooms are on the same level as the parking and the bottom level rooms required that you walk up and down stairs to get to them, there is no elevator. I found out later that they normally charge an extra $20 for the top level rooms. Since I am recovering from knee surgery it would have been nice if they had upgraded me to this best available room, or even if they had let me know that I could pay a small $20 fee to upgrade to a room that did not require me to take myself up and down stairs with my luggage. The worst part was seeing the motel parking lot half empty that night.

Obviously there were plenty of rooms available so I went to the front desk which was temporarily set up in one of the motel rooms since the lobby was being renovated. I did not bother asking about the room upgrade since I was already in my room and would only be here one night. I did ask about the "Welcome gift". I was told that they normally give platinum members (note that I am a Diamond member) an apple and a water but during the renovation they are just giving the 250 reward points. They offered to give me an apple.

Wow! No one tells us until we check in that the place is being renovated. Construction going on next to us. The pool being renovated. No lobby. Seems like the best they could do was offer us an apple. Not even a water? Did I mention that there was suppose to be water in each room (at least according to their room guide).

On the plus side. The rooms have an incredible view. The rooms are large and include a small microwave and medium sized fridge. If you have a dog, they put a blanket, water bowl and treats in the room for your pet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubbyChubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you feel you received subpar service at our property. As a company policy and Best Western standard, it is our goal to make every guest feel appreciated, especially our frequent guests and Best Western Rewards members. We are also happy to offer complimentary upgrades to our Elite members contingent upon availability. Although it may have seemed that we were not at full capacity, many of our upper level rooms are out of order due to renovations, so it is probable that an upper level room was not available to upgrade you to . We also only have a select few rooms that are pet friendly, which also limits our options for switching room types and offering upgrades. I do want to again sincerely apologize that this information was not adequately articulated to you. As a valued Elite member we cannot stress enough how important you are to our business and we regret that this gratitude was not conveyed during your stay. Thank you very much for bringing these issues to our attention, and we will work to address them to avoid issues in the future. We hope to exceed your expectations on a future visit and look forward to having the opportunity to do so.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband has been nagging me to go back to BW Shelter Cove since we visited last December. What an awesome place. So peaceful, quite, beautiful. As you enter the room all you see is the ocean through the sliding door that opens up to a patio/balcony. The room is extremely big with vaulted ceiling, nicely appointed, above all clean. Furniture’s are not high end, but adequate. There is a microwave and mini refrigerator in the room. The balcony has high chairs and table, perfect to watch the ocean. The exterior of the hotel is perfectly maintained. It is very nicely planned with nice little corners to explore, like the stairs down to the beach, or the secret little alcove to watch the waves crushing on the cliff. It gave me a feeling of being in a Caribbean island.
The service was awesome. I had to ship some emergency medication to the hotel the day of our arrival. We had requested the hotel to refrigerate the medication for us. So they did. They called few days before our arrival to inquire whether we had any special request. How nice.
Breakfast was good. Cereal, danishes, muffins, fruit, pancake from a pancake making machine, milk, coffee, and juices.
We drove around and looked at the near by hotels, such as spyglass inn, the sister best western, etc. None of them are as nicely located, nicely maintained as BW Shelter Cove.
We will definitely go back. Well, my husband will make me. He is in love.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at the Shelter Cove Lodge. We take a great amount of pride in our accommodations and customer service, so we are glad to hear you were able to experience both first hand.
We love to hear that you had such an enjoyable getaway with your husband, and we can’t wait to welcome you back to our property soon!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed this past presidents day weekend and what a beautiful hotel and great experiance. we had a very nice room, clean, well laid out plenty of room for three, decent breakfest was provided even with the construction.
We had an amazing view from the balconey, easy in and out and easy parking.
The beds were comfortable, big bathrooms, very large rooms. The pool was perfect every night, big hot tub and the pool temp was perfect, can't say enough good thins about this hotel, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camperbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Best Western Shelter Cove. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amazing views from your room balcony and the large layout of your guest room. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our ocean front pool and hot tub area as well. We hope you are able to visit us again during your next visit to the Pismo Beach area.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is right on a cliff overlooking the ocean. We were visited in the morning by bunnies coming out of the animal preserve strip of land that runs right along the walking path. There's a lovely park right to the north of the hotel. I only didn't give it 5 stars because there was construction going on, although it was being handled nicely by the staff and we were not bothered by noise as we were there on a weekend. Highly recommend this!

Room Tip: We were in room 508, and our view was slightly obstructed by a large plant. I recommend going to Mc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnomeVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. The amazing ocean views and the wildlife here at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge is often a highlight for our guests. We are looking forward to the completion of our renovations and we hope to have you back again to enjoy it all very soon.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank BRENDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,174 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $164 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, The Inn at the Cove is the ideal destination for a retreat for real life. Escape your every day in our tranquil, oceanfront setting, and enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi, and unbeatable proximity to the Central Coast's famous wine country and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing