We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
orange county
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is cool, they have a somewhat private beach with fantastic views. They are also very pet friendly. I was not expecting anything, but when we got to our room they had a bed blanket and some treats. My dog smelled the floors a lot more than normal so im guessing the rooms werent as clean as they should have been, but thats kinda expected for the level of hotel it was. The rooms were also pretty large and had a sink and mirror outside the bathroom which helps with people getting ready in the mornings.

Another plus was the continental breakfast. It was more than a continental breakfast like the front desk said. They have a super cool pancake making machine. You just press a button and wait a minute and a pancake come out. Overall it was a fun stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derekp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you and your pet companion enjoyed the pet basket goodies as well as the location and views from our property. We recently became pet friendly and love to hear feedback about our pet friendly rooms. We look forward to welcoming you and your pet back to another great stay at the Shelter Cove Lodge.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    369
    83
    28
    22
See reviews for
383
673
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
472 reviews
348 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We liked our large room and great ocean view, but a boring breakfast was served in a room so ludicrously small that with only one other person up for early breakfast we were bumping into each other. Very odd.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the breathtaking views from you room. We are currently in the process of remodeling our breakfast room to better meet our guests’ needs. The renovations should be complete within the coming months and we look forward to unveiling this to all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back to our property on your next visit to Pismo Beach.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanhoe, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

the room we stayed in had a great view of the Pismo Pier and Shell Beach area from the balcony. the carpet had a bad stain the size of a pie plate and the toilet rocked when you sit on it and the room smelled like a lit pumpkin candle but the rest of the room was nice. The check in and check out was pleasant. We stayed two days and the breakfast was fairly good but the first day they did not have any sausage biscuits or similar item like they had on the second day. Pancakes were good and there was a decent supply of fruits, cereals, breads, and drinks both days. I may stay at this motel again for the view and the access to their beach.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean views but some have different angles to the other areas along the ocean (like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred3235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize for the inadequate condition of your room, and assure you this is not a normal occurrence at our property. We take a great amount of pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff have been alerted to this issue to prelude future occurrences of this kind. We are very glad you were able to enjoy the views from your room and other amenities our property has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit to Pismo Beach.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The balcony was the best! Letting us bring our pet was a deal closer! We wished the shade on the skylight worked. Very nice room! April treated us excellent! Breakfast was good. We enjoyed the late check out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank MARK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so happy to read that you and you pet enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the full ocean views. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again on your next visit to the Central Coast.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My Wife Son and Myself stayed here on the way to San Francisco , We stayed in an ocean front 2nd floor room , which was very clean , a credit to your staff the breakfast was great and the selection was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveholidays0261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the ocean views from your room and other amenities like our breakfast. We will also make sure our staff is aware that they made your stay a more pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Pismo Beach!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, California
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are slightly dated, but clean and you absolutely can not beat the location. The hotel has a great pool/hot tub an exclusive access to a great spot on the beach. We will undoubtedly visit again!

Room Tip: 2nd level has the best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge. We appreciate your comments and are glad you were able to take advantage of our exclusive beach access! We are currently in the midst of planning a complete renovation of our rooms within the coming months. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shelter Cove Lodge on your next visit to Pismo Beach.
Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
370 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions in December and were very impressed.
First, the front desk service was exceptional: friendly, efficient, and helpful.
In both cases we had an upper level room, by choice, because the lower level rooms had steps to access them; not the best for the disabled. The rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable, with balconies and great views, set back a bit from the edge of a 90ft cliff. The beds were very comfortable.
The rooms each had two basins, one in the bathroom and one in the bedroom; a nice touch!
Breakfast was self-serve continental and more than sufficient for us. There is a nice patio off the breakfast room and adjacent sitting room, with a pool; nice for warm weather.
Our only grumble was the WiFi, which was difficult to access when heavily used in the morning and evening. We gave up trying on our second stay.

Room Tip: Upper level roms have much easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the excellent views from the rooms. We also appreciate your comments regarding our Wireless Internet connections and will work to improve this for future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing