We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shell Cafe

Shell Cafe
Ranked #33 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food. .. my wife enjoyed hers I loved the seafood omelette. Coffee was very smooth great taste service was very good nice ppl working there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxhound1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    52
    21
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing clam chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My son requested we return for the clam chowder the next day...service was a little slow but well worth the wait!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirl_90245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice 'no frills' meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Came here for dinner - had a live band on which was good
I opted for the steak .. which was excellent ..
Mrs had the fish thing (sorry to be vague .. cant remember what it was called) .. but again she liked it.
Not a 5* eatery but nice food, service good and live music all within a 2minute walk back to our hotel

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Shell Cafeteria...it's just OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This cafe was close to our hotel, so we tried it out.

Pros: cute place, indoor & outdoor seating, umbrellas, nice view. Good onion rings, beer on tap, good service.

Cons: sandwiches were small, tasty, but small for the $$. Clam chowder, one step above canned, fairly boring. One pitcher of beer, two bowls of clam chowder, two sandwiches, and $82 later, I won't be coming back to Shell Cafe anytime soon.

Wait for the Cracked Crab or Splash Cafe, as my friend who's a local advised. Going to to take his advice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScumOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast here and couldn't be happier. Great food, big portions, friendly attentive staff, beautiful view. What more to say. Great way to start the day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KyT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shell Cafe also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Shell Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing