We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ Food!”

Mo's Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #9 of 105 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Food!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our family is currently traveling the US via RV style. This journey will take two (2) years, which we are blogging on Facebook; "Happy Campers 227". We are exploring many attractions, activities and restaurants on this adventure using Trip Advisor. WoW! Glad we went to Mo's Smokehouse...The ribs with sweet Carolinas BBQ sauce was amazing. Good food & BBQ sauce!!! We also tried Mo's BBQ sauce, which was also amazing. We decided to buy a few bottles for the RV. Yummm!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyCampers227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    166
    44
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Barbecue”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We eat here every time we go to Pismo. We like the sampler plate. It comes with bbq ribs, chicken and pulled pork. The potato salad is really good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BBQ in Central Coast California”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went to this BBQ place without any prior experience. We are from Indiana, and were with friends from Thousand Oaks California. We were celebrating some birthdays and getting together to watch the Super Bowl. I must say, I was very impressed with the food! The Tri-Tip Sandwich, Rib Platter, and Garlic fries were excellent. We were a party of 9, and I think everyone loved the food, and the specialty sauces. They do a great job. If you like good BBQ, and are in Pismo beach area, I highly recommend to stop in and enjoy the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Smoking good ribs”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The decor of this restaurant is loosely modelled on a southern BBQ shack. Best ribs awards took the pride of place on the wall. Order your meal at the front counter and just pick a table and wait for your food to arrive. We ordered a mix of ribs, burger and BBQ samplers. The sampler is a big platter of pull pork, ribs and 1/4 BBQ chicken. It is certainly more than we can finish and we saw quite a few table left with doggie bags. It ain't no fine dining experience but it was certainly finger licking good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank captk2071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Old-style Southern Smokehouse in California”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place embodies the savory goodness of those funky places by the side of the road, or in bad parts of town, that have the most delicious, succulent barbecue ever. I'm picky about my barbecue, and most places don't make the grade. If you think Armadillo Willies is great barbecue, stay away, because you have no tastebuds. But if you know what I mean about amazing barbecue in the old school, check out Mo's, and you won't be disappointed. The succulent ribs positively melt in your mouth. Split an order. There's a lot of meat, there. Get some baked beans and slaw for the perfect accompaniment. And check out the "inspiration" on the walls.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo's Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Mo's Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing