We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed one night. Excellent check in staff, very helpful regarding directions and dinner recommendations. Rooms very clean and quiet location. Although we were on freeway side we did not notice traffic noise. Good size rooms and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    215
    81
    27
    16
See reviews for
259
218
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is very unique, although viewing it from the highway would not tell you that! It is located on a hill. The front entrance is actually on the 4th floor! Some rooms have ocean views, although it is distant. Centrally located next to Highway 101. Rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. They need to work a little on the breakfast area as far as the made to order items. If you arrive when it first opens, the staff may be somewhat disorganized. It is also a host hotel for Cal Poly Sci sporting activities. There were college golfers staying at the hotel, but they were very quiet. However, the golfers need to learn not to bring their golf clubs and backpacks to breakfast and drop them in the walkway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our California road trip.
There was a big religious conference on our floor but they didnt make any noise and were very pleasant guests.
We took our own snack and a drink down and sat out next to the pool to watch the stars.
Room was very good, both in size and quality which is what you'd expect from Hilton Garden.
Very easy to get down to Pismo Beach, we went for the day in the waves and then went back down for the sunset and then back in again for a coffee and juice at one of the funky hippy-dippy type places. Wish theyd take their hats off and put a t-shirt on though when others are eating. Not naming the place though. Chill, peace!
Big outlet place opposite with all the usual names - Ralph Lauren, Nike etc etc and very easy to get over to.
Can't go wrong here but didnt use any eating facilities though

Room Tip: ask for one upstairs overlooking the highway. Lively view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a welcoming hotel with great rooms, helpful and friendly reception staff and a good pool, spa and fitness centre. Having had an exceptional breakfast at the Hilton Garden Inn in Monterey the day before we were very disappointed with our breakfast in Pismo. Cold coffee, cold sausages and (apart from a helpful young man acting as m'd) staff hanging about not knowing what to do.

Room Tip: Go for the inside facing rooms to avoid looking out onto the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our nephew was getting married on Saturday on the beach in Pismo Beach. Wife & I decided Fridayto attend and after seeing a lot of VERY expensive places and alot of Dumps, we booked the Hilton Garden Inn at a very fair price. The place is right off US 101 with easy access, and less than a mile from the wedding venue. The place seems to be very new, or very well maintained or upgraded. The layout of the hotel/inn is slightly unusual, but it was well explained at check in. The front desk personnel were pleasant and professional.

The room was spacious and well apppointed. Not one of the quietest, but not noisy to the point of distraction. We did not use any of the amenities, but they had a very complete work out room, a nice clean inviting pool and well landscaped grounds.There was only one "fly in the ointment". The tub faucet diverter valve did not work properly, directing only some of the water to the shower head nozzle. The rest gushed into the tub with a loud hissing noise. We did not report it to the front desk, but when leaving on Sunday morning I met one of the maintenance persons in the hall way and informed him of the condition. He apologized and explained that some of the other rooms had reported this type of problem, and that they were in the process or replacing these faucets. Other than that - a really great stay. If I am back I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastrebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I only spent one night at this Hilton Garden Inn. It's a nice hotel right next to the freeway which made it very easy getting to and leaving. My room was a standard double room on the third floor. Since the hotel is on a hill, my window view was of a sloping driveway that I had to look up to see. This was unusual and caused me to leave my curtains closed throughout my stay so people were not looking down into my room. The room was spacious and clean, but the bed was one of the firmest beds I ever slept on. I don't like my mattress that firm, but I suppose that's a personal preference. The hotel has a little lounge near the lobby and a restaurant on the third floor. The restaurant is in the same area as the buffet breakfast and doesn't really have the look of a restaurant. I booked the hotel last minute so the price was quite a bit higher than what the rooms probably go for in advance. The hotel was nice and convenient, but because of my preference for a softer mattress, I probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city, not the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 98travels2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

First pit stop on our way to SF from LA, and it's one of the better remodeled HGIs we've stayed at during the entire trip. It has the best bathroom structure and we got an upgraded room with our patio door opened right in front of the pool. The staff were nice and so was the breakfast. We had a long international flight and was went to the buffet 5 minute before closing, but they took care of us nonetheless. The room was spacious and very clean, and the check-in staff were friendly. Looking forward to future stays when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_jfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
1.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#4 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Address: 601 James Way, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 120 spacious rooms and suites, the Hilton Garden Inn Pismo beach is your new Central Coast vacation headquarters. Amenities include the Great American Grill restaurant serving breakfast and dinner, room service, Pavilion Lounge, free wireless and hard-wired internet access, pool, spa, business center, Pavilion Market serving snacks and beverages, a fitness center, a guest laundry, and over 1,600 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Close to great restaurants and the Pismo Prime Outlets, and only minutes from the beach, the Oceano Dunes, wineries, golf courses and quaint coastal towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Mission Hotel Pismo Beach
Mission Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing