We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Was the Best Part”

Lido at Dolphin Bay
Ranked #29 of 106 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spyglass Drive
Description: Lido Restaurant and Lounge at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa is one of the top sought after dining locations in Pismo Beach. The mesmerizing ocean view provides the perfect backdrop for a casual yet elegant dining setting. Come and experience the most spectacular sunsets Pismo Beach has to offer while dining on the patio. Lido at Dolphin Bay specializes in California Coastal Cuisine showcasing a variety of world class products that can be found right in the San Luis Obispo region. With over 300 wineries from the Santa Maria and Santa Ynez Valleys to the Edna Valley, Paso Robles and Monterey appellations, there are countless exciting and unique local wines to pair with each dish. Lido at Dolphin Bay is committed to bringing all of the farmers and wineries together in order to celebrate the endless bounties of the Central Coast region.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Yes, the food was incredible. We went on Xmas Eve and everyone had a different meal... and each one was mouth-wateringly good. We couldn't fault any of the food. The service too was exceptional. The people serving us, from the host to the sommelier to the waiters... all happy, cheerful and good at what they do. That was a pleasure. We also greatly enjoyed having delicious and generous drinks from the bar outside by the fire pit while waiting for our table (we were early for our reservation). We met some nice people, stayed warm and were outside by the beach and under the stars. On this occasion, we ate inside by the window (but it was dark) although we have eaten outside too. I would say I prefer eating outside, where the beach and the sky improve the ambiance. If there is one thing I don't like about this restaurant, its that the inside dining room is a bit cavernous and sterile... if the food and service wasn't so great, there would be nothing attractive about it. They could really use some dividers or something to improve the experience of dining inside. But if you take that out of the picture, a highly recommended place to eat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YucatanLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd B, General Manager at Lido at Dolphin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Well, thank you so much for the praise. We do work hard not only to keep our staff well-trained and knowledgeable, but most importantly happy and cheerful as this seems to be the best way to make sure our guests fell the same. It is always wonderful to hear that their hard work is paying off. As you mention, of course the sunshine and the sea go along way toward that end as well! We will look forward to seeing you out on the patio again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 285 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Seared scallops were cooked perfectly, but put in a terrible sauce.
Prime rib was cool around the edges
Apple Strudel had a very thick and tough crust...nothing flaky about this crust. Ice cream was an off tasting vanilla

Requested table not given even though it was available and unused during our entire dining experience. Small dining room had a rank fish smell.

$55.00 plus tax and tip was too much for too little in terms of quality and service!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd B, General Manager at Lido at Dolphin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Well thank you, David, for your feedback on this experience. It was my understanding that all of the food was received quite well during our Christmas service, so it is certainly troubling to here of these issues, and I do apologize that we were not able to address them sooner. I believe you are already familiar with our Restaurant Manager, Collin Tharp. Please ask for either him or myself on your next visit with us, in the hopes that we might personally ensure that your expectations are instead exceeded in the future, and thank you again for reaching out to us with your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lido restaurant had a wonderful menu. Maybe a little lacking on fish choices, however that is readily available elsewhere. Service was outstanding and wine knowledge in the bar area was excellent! Very friendly staff and manager was onsite and paying attention, that is always a plus when dining! Cannot go wrong with ocean views either! Highly recommend this restaurant!

1  Thank pamatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd B, General Manager at Lido at Dolphin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Well thank you, Pam, for sharing this wonderful feedback with us. We really try to focus on bringing every member of the team into the process of building a knowledgeable and enjoyable experience, and it is always inspiring to hear how that hard work is paying off. We will look forward to enjoying the view with you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Three options on the fixed priced menu included, turkey, salmon or pasta. All were prepared to perfection and people moved in and out in a well-organized, gracious manor. I highly recommend it!

1  Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd B, General Manager at Lido at Dolphin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Well thank you so much, Cynthia. As people who build our lives around great food & wine, Thanksgiving is one of our favorite days of the year. Thank you so much to you and your family for sharing it with us, and thanks for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our family of four had reservations for Thanksgiving. Two meals were good - fillet of salmon and beef tenderloin. The turkey dinners however were anything but good! Really surprised as we paid same rate as the others - $55 each. Desserts all the way around the table were disappointing. Normally food is much better than this. Have been there many times over the years. Best thing though - no corking fee that night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elliotthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd B, General Manager at Lido at Dolphin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Well thank you so much for joining us with your family on one of our favorite days of the year! I am terribly sorry to hear the news about the turkey dinners, however. Had I known sooner I would have certainly liked to intervene, but I am happy to see you have continued to enjoy our service in the past. I will send you my personal contact information. Please let me know when you next plan to join us and I will be happy to ensure that we make up for it on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido at Dolphin Bay also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Lido at Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing