We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in Pismo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We upgraded to ocean view at this resort and were not disappointed! It was magnificent! The hotel is a couple of miles from Pismo beach and the main town but we didn't mind as we had everything we needed right here. We were only here for two nights as part of a big trip down the coast so were ready to just relax - this was perfect!

The amenities are fantastic and our suite was in fact a condo with a great kitchen/dining area a fab lounge with big screen and fire and a beautiful balcony overlooking pool and the ocean with magnificent views of the coast and sunsets.

We dined at Lido restaurant for oysters and cocktails which were good. We used the gas bbq area near the pool, overlooking the ocean with a fire pit to take the chill off as the sun set - just perfect! There is a great deli a few minutes walk away where they do good food for BBQs.

Bike hire is free and we took off down to Pismo and the pier - great fun and if you keep diverting onto the coastal accesses off the main road you will be sure of some great views and shots of the wildlife.

There is beach access down quite a few steps and the beach, I thought, was much better than the main one at Pismo. If Pismo is on your list - stay at this resort - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ocean view - 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TessaNearLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Greetings TessaLeeds,
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your ocean view accommodation along with your fireplace and private balcony. We are also happy that you could enjoy the beach cruiser bikes, beach access, and wonderful cuisine at our Lido Restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next trip down the coast!
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 421 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

I am writing this as I sit on the Oceanfront balcony at 6:00am, drinking my coffee,listening to the waves and taking in the beautiful ocean views, thankful that we chose this amazing hotel! From the minute you arrive, you feel welcomed. The staff here are truly wonderful. Always a smile.
We were able to watch a beautiful wedding as the sun went down from our balcony and we danced to the music too! Do not hesitate in booking a stay here. It is worth every penny! Now back to enjoying the gorgeous view.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank chaffrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear chaffrd,

Thank you so much for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at the resort as well as of the tranquil setting you experienced as you posted your review. Word of mouth is the best type of advertisement and we certainly appreciate you sharing you great experiences on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went to the Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa in Pismo Beach in February 2014. We rented a 2 bedroom ocean front unit for 6. It was an amazing weekend at a lovely location. The unit was impeccable and the staff friendly and accommodating. It was expensive but fortunately we were able to get a 3rd night free which made it very worth it! I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Recommend downstairs in an ocean front room. Beach is a short walk down from the hotel which is buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Greetings Daniel D,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. It is wonderful to hear that you had an amazing weekend at the resort and enjoyed your impeccable suite and our friendly staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future for another great stay.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had an amazing experience at the resort this past week. From the moment we arrived, the service was terrific. Even though our room wasn't ready until 4, everybody there was so apologetic and accommodating (offering free appetizers & drinks for the family at the Lido - we had already eaten - so they sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to the room, along with fruit platter for the kids). Spacious room. Amazing view - pool + ocean. We ate at the Lido for our 25th anniversary and had the Chef's tasting menu (delicious) and the service, once again, was top notch. Kids loved it - free popcorn and hot chocolate plus board games and movies for the room. Everybody at the resort - from the front desk to housekeeping - made our stay a great one! We will definitely won't be waiting another 25 years to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robozap2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Greetings Robozap2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experiences at Dolphin Bay on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you had an amazing time at the resort celebrating your 25th Anniversary and enjoyed the view, our staff, Lido Restaurant, as well as the other amenities we offer on property. It is very rewarding to hear that despite the mishap at the start of your stay, your family still experienced our top notch service from the moment you arrived until your departure. Our goal is to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and we are thrilled we could do so with you. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Dolphin Bay in the near future for another amazing stay.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

So sorry we only stayed two nights. Every member of staff goes out of their way to make your stay specials the suites are unbelievable! The very best. Recommend cocktails in the bar and complementary coffee each morning. Well done Dolphin Bay! Very special.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank TisGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Greetings TisGed,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Dolphin Bay. It is wonderful to hear that you felt that each of our staff members went out of their way to make your stay special. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and it is rewarding to hear we did so for you. We look forward to welcoming you Dolphin Bay in the near future for, hopefully, a longer stay.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Have just spent a lovely weekend at Dolphin Bay in a 2 bedroom suite. Absolutely perfect amenities with everything you could possibly want catered for. We enjoyed two great meals at the Lido restaurant and found the staff very attentive to my gluten free needs and my children's requests. Also would thoroughly recommend the spa - initially thought it looked quite expensive but on experiencing it my massages with Stephen were worth every penny. Can definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Lizlaidlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Lizlaidlaw,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful words on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely time at the resort and thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at Lido Restaurant as well as your massage with Stephen at The Spa. We strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and it is rewarding to hear we have done so for you. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised us. Nice location south of Hearst Castle, just past Morro Bay. Rooms were spacious and very well maintained. Pool area and costal walk areas were really nice. Restaurant at hotel was great for food and service. Relaxed and enjoyed for 2 days. We would recommend this.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank RoamingBrit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear RoamingBrit007,

Thank you for providing feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent trip to Dolphin Bay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious rooms, our infinity pool, as well as the great food and service at Lido Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future for another relaxing stay.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,504 reviews
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,072 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,201 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $351 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at The Spa at Dolphin Bay. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will escape the ordinary Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing