We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Amtrak Surfliner and enjoy Dolphin Bay's 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take the Amtrak Surfliner and enjoy Dolphin Bay's 5 stars”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

People have already mentioned the attentive staff - and they truly do go 'above and beyond' to make you welcome, comfortable and pampered. But what made our 'special birthday' weekend trip unique and fantastic was combining a trip up from Southern California by 2 in our party via the Amtrak Surfliner. One person boarded in Fullerton, the second in Santa Barbara and they arrived into the Grover Beach station on Friday night just before 8pm. Grover Beach is right next to Pismo - just 10 minutes away. They were treated to a glorious coastal sunset while riding in style and no concerns for Friday night traffic. I headed down from Northern California via car with an easy ride on Highway 101. I easily picked them up and our fabulous time at the resort was underway.

The Dolphin Bay Resort truly has everything we were looking for - ocean views, heated pool, hot tub, luxury accommodations with granite counters, designer interiors, plush robes, spacious rooms with balconies with fresh ocean air. The location on the bluffs was incredible. And everything was within easy walking distance. The spa is fantastic (wonderful massages), the Lido restaurant was great, and attention to detail was impressive.

At the end of our terrific weekend, the resort offered their complementary house car to drive two in our party to the train - for a leisurely and relaxing journey home. I checked with resort management and they said they'd be happy to accommodate future train travelers and pick them up with the house car, subject to availability. Sweet!

We cannot wait to do it again. Thank you Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa for a wonderful weekend!

P.S. Thank you to Marc for arranging the balloons and chocolate dipped strawberries to kick off the birthday weekend in style!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Greetings Nancy L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor! We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at Dolphin Bay enjoying the views and amenities we have to offer. We are also happy to hear that you had fantastic treatments and dining experience as well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future during your next trip to the Central Coast.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    57
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
211
117
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Never have I stayed at a hotel/resort with such friendly, attentive staff. The property itself is wonderful, with beach access to tide pools, walking along the bluffs, beautiful views, but it is the staff that makes staying here a vacation to remember.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nychipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Nychipster,

Thank you for providing us with such a pleasant review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful views, walks along the bluff line and access to the tide pools. We are also happy to hear you found our staff to be pleasant and attentive throughout your stay. It is our goal to exceed all of our guests' expectations and we are glad we could do so with you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

originally built as a condo, this place is perfect for a getaway or small family get together. kitchens are great, with granite counters, all cooking utensils, built in laundry room. Units also have 2 baths with tubs, plenty of living room space - well appointed - a real "home away from home". Service also excellent from the staff and they have a great restaurant on premises with fresh and savory dishes and good wine selection.
The oceanfront room views were spectacular, even in lousy weather - just breathtaking.
The premises also has hot tub, pool, outdoor grills and lovely beach walk.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dedon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Dedon4,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a great review regarding Dolphin Bay on Trip Advisor. It is so delightful to hear that you and your family enjoyed our spacious and fully equipped suites, the wonderful food & wine selection at Lido, our excellent customer service, as well as the other amenities we offer on property. We strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and it a great compliment to be considered a home away from home. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We rent a room which is really a one bedroom condo overlooking the ocean. We have also rented the two bedroom with my brother in law. The beach is close, SLO night market on Thursdays is excellent and oysters up in Morro Bay with a visit to the 1950's shell shop always makes me happy. This a great town for families!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2stayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy you were able to enjoy not only our Resort, but the quaint surrounding towns that make us even more unique. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I think this was our 4th trip here and as always the service and facilities did not disappoint. From reservation to departure, everything is always great. So much attention is given to details that help make a memorable experience. Just wish I had more than 2 nights!!

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room here, but I would definitely recommend the ocean view suites over everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM_MOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Greetings Jeffery0924,

Thank you for taking the time to post another great review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent return trip to Dolphin Bay. It is so rewarding to read that you had another great stay, from reservation to departure, and that we were able to help create a memorable experience. Our goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations and we are pleased to hear we continually do so with you. We appreciate your patronage and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay soon.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our 2nd venture to the Dolphin Bay. From start to finish, this place was again first class! We arrived a bit early for check-in and after a few phone calls to housekeeping, our room was ready. We were assigned room 312, a one bedroom ocean front suite which is what we had reserved online. This room was three floors up on the corner of the North Building, literally on top of the Lido Restaurant and the view was a 270 degree spectacular! Only way the view might have been better was to be in room 411. When entering the Suite, we were greeted with a note from Erica Coppola and a complimentary bottle of wine (2011 Cabernet Sauvignon from Castoro Cellars) wishing a happy stay. Very nice! We ate in the Lido Restaurant five times. The food in this restaurant is as good as it gets. Our waiter for dinner on our first night, Brian M. was beyond exceptional! Thank you again Brian! I'm a beer drinker in a wine dive and he kept the beers coming...he even gave me one to go...LOL. From the parking valet employees to housekeeping and restaurant staff and front desk, these people are trained well. The wifey got a Massage and the Spa treatment (In Suite was superior). Turn down service from Ivy was terrific and Housekeeping is phenomenal! Thank you, Olivia!

The only gripe we have is the "assigned parking" in the underground garage. Apparently they let anyone, including their employees, park in assigned parking spots. Our was 312. We were told to "park anywhere" and to not "block anyone in." A Toyota compact truck was in our parking spot on Saturday night. We noticed that this truck parked in another spot on Sunday. Why have designated parking with room numbers for guests in ocean front rooms if you're not going to enforce it? Very confusing! Other than this minor gripe, everything at this hotel is amazing! We are pinching pennies to return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Greg B.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a great and detailed review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent return stay at Dolphin Bay. We pride ourselves on the service we provide to all of our guests and we cannot be more pleased to hear how much you enjoy it property wide, from our servers at Lido, Guest Service Agents at the front desk, to our housekeeping and valet attendants. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising and we sincerely appreciate you sharing your own personal experiences about Dolphin Bay, Lido, The Spa and all our property has to offer. We do offer non-assigned self parking spaces however, we are currently looking into ways to avoid confusion in the underground parking lots. We also offer a complimentary valet lot that is especially convenient to guests staying in the North Building. We certainly appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay soon.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This resort is excellent. Celebrating 2 Birthdays with friends and family. BEAUTIFUL Facility. The 2 bedroom suite is absolutely amazing. The kitchen is wonderful. Staff are helpful and curious. The location in Prismo Beach has breath taking views of the Pacific. Cannot wait to return. 5 stars in our book. Daryl and Linda Heiser, Indiana

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Daryl H.,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit to Dolphin Bay on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear your enjoyed our beautiful views and that you had an amazing birthday celebration with your family and friends. We strive to exceed all of guests’ expectations and we are pleased to hear we do so with you. Thank you again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay on your next California trip.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,975 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,992 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at The Spa at Dolphin Bay. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will escape the ordinary Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing