We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior Oceanfront Accommodations for Families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superior Oceanfront Accommodations for Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Coming from a home base in Florida where these types of accommodations are plentiful, I was pleased to find similar accommodations during our road trip through the Central Coast. The entrance and lobby are average but just beyond the view is spectacular. The condos are luxurious and the kitchen well-equipped. We stayed in a top-floor, ocean-front condo and enjoyed ocean views (consider a corner suite in the South Building away from the restaurant and activity). We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the Lido Lounge and the service and food were very good. One evening there was a "local wine tasting" on the patio, which sounded inviting but was disappointing. A disinterested distributor from Angeline served two very mediocre wines. Also, during our stay, we only saw one adult running things (in the Lido restaurant); otherwise, the resort seemed to be run by young professionals (and they were doing a great job!). Would highly recommend but be prepared to pay for such lovely accommodations.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank boyntonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Greetings Boyntonbeach,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your luxurious ocean front suite and well-equipped kitchen. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner in our award winning restaurant Lido. We appreciate your input on the wine tasting on our patio, for it is feedback such as yours that helps us continue to better our operations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    53
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
196
108
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this hotel as we travelled down Highway 1 on a road trip. What a place, didnt want to leave. Absolutely fantastic! Great rooms, service, views, pool and hot tub. A good restaurant and close to town. I can not praise this hotel/apartments enough - great, great, great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings Darren P,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the great rooms, service, and views during your stay with us. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the California Coastal cuisine in our Lido Restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next adventure down Highway 1.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Dolphin Bay for one night and wished we had stayed much longer. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that was very comfortable in size for the 6 of us (4 adults and 2 kids). The rooms are very modern, nicely furnished, and the kitchens and laundry facilities are very high-end. Really, all you would need to feel at home at this resort. The pool is nice and heated. But I think that what sets this place apart is the level of service they provide. The staff could not have been nicer, more attentive and truly wanting to help make our stay as pleasurable as possible. They offer complimentary high-end tea and hot chocolate, turn down service, a large array of DVDs to borrow and even water bottles for the road as we were leaving. They go out of their way to deliver the best service possible. We will be back.

Room Tip: The views of the ocean are spectacular. Ask for a higher floor (there are only 3 or 4 floors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings Orr S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your two-bedroom suite, our heated infinity pool, and the extra amenities we have to provide our guests. We are also happy to hear that you found the staff to be so friendly and accommodating. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

For a family of 5, with three little boys (8, 6, 4) - this was a last minute Spring Break get away. My wife and I both travel for work and are more critical than complimentary. We were amazed with how many things took us by surprise on this three day trip. Some examples: Staff some of the nicest we've encountered, facilities nicer than expected, room bigger than expected. We've stayed in several time share facilities and there's always something missing or something we wish we had. Dolphin Bay thought through many of those things like (paper towel, sugar, salt/pepper, etc).

Beach is 3 min walk away, pool and spa were great - has a drink server out there even! We played croquet and soccer on the grass overlooking ocean. When we were there it was somewhat foggy, but that's what you sometimes get with Shell Beach. 2 min drive to McClintocks, SLO where we went to college, and just a great Spring Break get away.

Strongly recommend it - we'll be back.

Room Tip: We had room 311 which is at least half ocean view. The true ocean view would be great - but our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings Banjogo,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Spring Break vacation here at Dolphin Bay. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious accommodation, ocean views, and all the amenities that we provide to enhance your stay. We are happy that your boys were able to utilize the croquet and soccer ball on the lawn area as well. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to the resort in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I should start by saying I'm very picky. This resort was perfect. Period.Cleanest I've ever seen, and kept that way for me. Twice daily maid service. They actually load and unload the dishwasher for you. If you have dishes laying about they gather them as well. The staff are so welcoming and helpful. We were sitting at the Lido restaurant on the patio by the pool. Our server had brought our wonderful margaritas and some nice bread to snack on, when the kids got out of the pool we got them virgin margaritas. Our server was very friendly and efficient. The food manager came by just to say hello and was so personable. When one of the kids ask me about getting more bread another server who was just walking by overheard her and stop and said absolutely they could have more bread and then went and got it.. I think it's impressive when people go out of the way to take care of the customer.. These folk do it very well.. I haven't even mentioned the view of the ocean from our suite. We stayed on the first floor ocean front and loved our suite with its fireplace and spacious living room and dining area. The kitchen truly has everything you need. I took a few spices and was good to go.. If you want the comforts of home with an ocean view the Dolphin Bay Resort is the place.

Room Tip: Choose a room with fireplace this way you have ocean view in your living and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afoxca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings Afoxca,
Thank you for providing us with feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ocean views and daily service of your suite. We are also happy to hear that you found the staff to be so accommodating. It is our goal to anticipate all guests needs and exceed their expectations, a goal we are happy to be able to meet with you. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent facilities in every way. Well trained staff who know the meaning of customer service. Highly recommend. Room was spacious. I would stay on the 3rd floor for a better view and quieter location. The spa was clean, relaxing and well staffed. Sunday breakfast on the patio was wonderful. Good menu selection and very accommodating to changes. All staff that we encountered were excellent. Seemed to really like working there and had praise for the management. Happy staff makes for happy customers.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the money. Stay on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L8410S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Greetings L8410S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our facilities property wide; from your spacious accommodations, Lido Restaurant, and our La Bonne Vie Spa. We are also happy to hear that you found our staff to be well trained and they provided the customer service you had anticipated and deserve. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin Bay Resort over President's Weekend at the suggestion of a family member. We were thrilled to discover that our suite was a very clean, large, comfortable one bedroom apartment with a large balcony overlooking the hotel lawn and ocean. We could sit on the balcony and watch our children play on the lawn. It looked newly renovated with granite, a full kitchen, fireplace and essentially a wall of view windows. The bed was very comfortable, too. Bathroom was large. There were 2 walk in closets.

The pool is very large and our 8 year old twins found it to be just perfect for them. It was surprisingly uncrowded even though the weather was nice.

The staff was amongst the most attentive and quick to respond to towel requests, etc, that I have ever experienced. They were so uniformly attentive and friendly that it was as if they all took happy pills in the morning. How refreshing!

The only downside was that while the restaurant has a spectacular ocean view and could accomodate our large party. The restaurant's service wasn't great. We had to wait a long time for service (extra coffee) and for our meals. This should be an easy fix, though, and maybe it has been since we were there in February.

Room Tip: Second floor corner suite with view was perfect. Even though there is a restaurant next door, we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bijolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Greetings Bijolead,
That you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the ocean views and large accommodations over President's Day Weekend. We are also happy to hear that you found the staff to be so friendly and attentive. We are sorry to hear that you found our restaurant service to be unsatisfactory, as it is our goal to exceed all our guests' expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to provide you with the exceptional service you had anticipated and deserve.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing