We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been coming here for four years at least twice a year, sometimes three times a year. We are always impressed with the staff, and kid friendly environment (two girls ages 6 & 8). We have had a blast here every time. From pool to the beach to grilling your own steaks overlooking the ocean, this.place is very fun. We will be back again this year. BTW....70+ degrees in January in Pismo. Pretty cool.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Greetings RWieler,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the beautiful weather during your stay and were able to utilize the BBQ area overlooking the ocean. We are also happy to hear that our staff could provide such a family friendly environment for you to relax in. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back, once again, in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 428 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The room was better than all the previous rooms, which seemed closer to the ocean. We watched the sun set over the ocean from bed... so relaxing! The staff was super helpful in booking the room and making travel arrangements. It was so nice that they could accomodate all of my requests! The restaurant did not disappoint either! I cannot stay at this place and pass up the duck hash for breakfast. It is amazing! The quiet, luxurious room was a perfect place to get cozy and enjoy a trip away. We definitely felt refreshed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soloTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Greetings soloTrvl,
Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the sunset view from your bed and found the staff to be so helpful in meeting all of your requests. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy one of your Lido favorites, the duck hash for breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another romantic getaway.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The view from the hotel is gorgeous with a breath-taking view of the sunset. The suite has everything you can think of from salad spinner to shoes closet. A little on the pricey side but all worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherylq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Greetings Sherylq,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort and we able to experience the beautiful sunset view. We are also happy to hear that you found your suite and all the amenities to be so accommodating. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is right on the cliffs overlooking the water. You can hear the waves all night long. The views and sunsets are stunning. It could not be more beautiful and peaceful.
The rooms are great all being Suites with Cook's kitchens, dining rooms, living room with fireplace and flat screen TV and DVR, the sofa makes into a bed for the extra guest. Hidden washer/dryer so you can pack light and large walk in closets to store whatever you bring. There is a great grocery store nearby and its 5 min from the pier where you can buy fresh fish daily. If you don't feel like cooking, there is a nice restaurant and bar and there is room service as well.
Fitness center, large pool and a Spa for facials and massage, everything right there. I have been six times or maybe more and always come back refreshed and restored. Midway between LA and SF, guess is about 3 hr drive either way.

Room Tip: Talk to the reservations desk or look online at the rooms so that you find what you need. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Greetings Disarma,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy yet another beautiful and peaceful stay with us here, at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are also happy to hear that you are not only able to simply enjoy your accommodations, but the resort as a whole. We look forward, as always, to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and the view from the hotel just gorgeous. You will enjoy your stay here. The room we had a view of the pool and ocean it was beautiful especially at sunset.. amazing! The room was real clean. The kitchen had all the amenities needed to make your trip easy especially if traveling with children. It had a large refrigerator that you can store so much. The staff was wonderful so, professional and helpful. If I come back to Pismo beach I will definitely return to Dolphin Bay Resort.

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade if possible the staff will work with you to ensure you enjoy your stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Greetings Hugs 2013,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa and found your accommodations to provide the amenities you needed. We are also happy that you found the staff to be professional and helpful throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future, for another wonderful stay.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great experience! Our fourth visit in two years, we love it here. Staff is friendly and goes out of their way to please. View from our ocean front room is better than I experienced in far away islands. It is hard to believe it is 3.5 hours drive from LA and it feels like you are on a different world.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms worth the extra fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Greetings Lisa G,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yet another stay with us. We are also happy that you continue to find our staff friendly and accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back, once again, in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. My daughter and son-in-law booked us a one bedroom unit for a little Christmas Eve /Christmas Day getaway with them. They had a two bedroom that they shared with son-in-laws parents. The room was so beautiful, with a balcony view of the pool and ocean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Grounds are gorgeous and there are walkways along the ocean. We hope to be able to return, soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charliesmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Greetings Charlie's Mom1,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feeback in regards to your recent stay with us at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy a family get together for the holiday on property. We are also happy that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean view from your balcony and found the staff to be so helpful. Hopefully we can welcome you and your family back for another wonderful stay in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,560 reviews
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,862 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $402 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at The Spa at Dolphin Bay. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will escape the ordinary Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing