We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, Large rooms and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, Large rooms and good service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fantastic views, Large rooms and good service

Pros: Our room was pretty much an apartment, full kitchen, lounge, dining area (with table), bedroom with two walk in waldrobes and a balcony.

Good and friendly service from reception and in the restaurant.
Amazing views when the sun is setting
Very close to the beach, accessible through a private walkway.

Cons: There was a wedding taking place at the time we were there, it made dinner reservations slightly difficult and we had to sit outside, although it was interesting to watch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Greetings Jamesy45,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your spacious accommodations and found our staff to be so friendly. We are also happy to that you were able to enjoy the beautiful sunset views and beach access. We would like to apologize for any discomfort that you and your guests encountered due to the event on property. It is our goal to create a cohesive environment to meet all guest needs and expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, in order to provide you with the experience you had anticipated and deserve.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    55
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
206
116
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

So when a hotel quotes $400+ per room night, it takes aim at some of the highest quality levels of lodging. This is a great place to stay, but it falls a little short of that bar. The hotel comes across as a luxury condo development on the california coast. The bedding is first rate, the views are amazing. Service is efficient and well trained. The ocean front condos are great. The restaurant is surprisingly good.

The downside - resort fee - never a good idea. Also the bathrooms while nice are simply not up to the level you would expect from this price range. At this price range you can't have a shower inside the tub and toilet seat next to it too. Overall - a great place to stay while traveling the california coast. Even if it is somewhat overpriced.

Room Tip: get ocean front condo. The ocean is one of the main benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Greetings Onepoet,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from your accommodation and found our staff to be so efficient. We apologize for that you disagree with the resort fee and did not intend for it to alter your stay. It is our intention to eliminate multiple charges by incorporating all the amenities we have to offer our guests in one fee. We greatly appreciate our guests' feedback as it helps us to better our operations on property and we will take your advice into great consideration. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A great place with a beautiful location on the cliffs of Avala Beach. It has what you would expect for a high-end resort, but without any of the high-end attitude. Employees were very helpful. Our kids really enjoyed the swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Greetings Jared H,
Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you found our staff to be so friendly and accommodating. We are also happy you and your family were able to enjoy our saline infinity pool. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you all back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the moment of our arrival to the time we left - The Dolphin Bay staff made our experience a truly memorable one. The entire Resort ... From the Lido Restaurant, to the Spa, to the beautiful, clean, luxurious rooms, to the grounds the resort rests upon ... All are FIRST CABIN - TOP SHELF!! This resort and our stay there were among the finest we've ever experienced. We can happily recommend Dolphin Bay Resort to travelers looking for a "Special" experience on California's Central Coast.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front rooms / suites are Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Greetings Jim J,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. It is our goal to exceed all our guests' expectations and are so pleased to see we did so with you. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy not only your spacious accommodations but our Lido cuisine and La Bonne Vie spa treatments as well. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another memorable stay.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa as a stop off on our long drive of Route 1, we only stayed here for 1 night so I was not bothered about what sort of room so just booked a One Bedroom Deluxe. We were pleasantly suprised to see that our room was infact a one bedroom condo, with a fully fitted modern kitchen and large lounge and dining area. We were a short walk from the seafront, swimming pool and restaurant. The food in the restaurant was delicious aswell and all staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly. I wish we had been staying here longer as it was so nice and comfortable with amazing view of the sunset at the end of each day.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are very nice, but we could not fault the room we had which was towards the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOanne_P10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Greetings JOanne_P10,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased that you found our staff to be accommodating property wide and enjoyed the amenities within your suite. I am also happy to hear that were able to enjoy the entire resort, including our Contemporary California Cuisine in our award winning Lido Restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future, hopefully for more than just a one night stay.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband & I stayed last weekend in this beautiful hotel, we loved our room was very big, cozy, elegant, just exquisite, with an amazing ocean view. The staff was very nice & friendly. We are wine lovers so the location of the hotel is very convenient because is next to the ocean peaceful & quiet but very close to the wine region of Paso Robles so you can easily go for wine tasting!!! We had a wonderful time and we want to come back very soon for another fun & relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 215 was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Adriana B.,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our spacious suites, friendly staff and proximity to wine country. Next time you visit, we invite you to enjoy complimentary tastings and exclusive discounts on purchases at local wineries through our Winery Reciprocal Program. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the resort next time you visit the Central Coast.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's in an amazing location! Very pricey but if you share the cost with a family or friends (it's one and two bedroom suits), it might be OK. Beds are nice, rooms themselves are lovely, pool is clean and warm, Lido Deck restaurant is very good. They allow dogs, which is great!

Room Tip: If you have a dog traveling with you, be sure to get the room on the first floor that way you can le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear VictoriaLA,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the restaurant, rooms and pool facility. Although you may not return as soon as we would like due to the cost, we certainly hope you saw the value with what we have to offer including 1,000-2,100 square feet of living space with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, living and dining room, separate living spaces, as well as a balcony. We do look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to the resort next time you visit the Central Coast.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,378 reviews
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,956 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,198 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at The Spa at Dolphin Bay. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will escape the ordinary Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing