We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No Ocean View from Ocean View Ave. but centrally placed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Creswick, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No Ocean View from Ocean View Ave. but centrally placed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A good basic motel , good sized room with comfortable bed . Clean facilities and pleasant staff.
We would stay here again as good price for what you get. Ideal for short stay.Free parking , and walking distance to main street shops and restaurants .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    127
    62
    8
    10
See reviews for
56
141
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel is in the middle of Pismo Beach, within walking distance of Ocean, and Pier. Great location for restaurants, and shops. Rooms were clean,and quiet. If you are eating locally try Rosa's next door, for great Italian food. If you have more time and want a steak of a lifetime drive to Nipomo and stop at Jocko's.... worth the 20 min. drive...

Room Tip: We asked for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lv2TrvlGeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My first experiance of a motel and a very good one at that. We payed £60 for the night and the room was very, very clean (and I'm fussy) with all mod cons, fridge, iron, hair dryer etc.

Parking is free, and it's 5 mins to the beach. If your staying here go to the lake 15 mins drive away. It's not advertised anywhere but the scenary is incredible and the highlight to our entire trip to California pacific coast.

The national park has fishing, trails and water sports. It's huge and well worth the 10 dollars to drive round. You can stay all day for this fee and if you have children there is lots to do here. Take a picnic would be my advice.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HellsBells055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We booked this motel as a stop over from LA to Monterey and it was everything we needed - clean, free parking, close (but not too close) to the highway and also to some restaurants/shops in Pismo Beach. After a long drive we decided to walk into the town centre to get some dinner and enjoy the sunset, this took about 10 minutes but it seems that everyone drives everywhere in the US! The next morning we were on our way after getting some breakfast at the motel, easy checkout and no hassles at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sains23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The motel on the outside well kept, rooms were very clean. Location was great, everything in Pismo was in walking distance. We will stay there every time we go. Great 4 days. I will tell my friends to stay there! Thanks Pismo palms.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HDFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
215 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

if you're looking for a place to spend the night without breaking the bank, Ocean Palms is fine. We paid a total of $83 for a 2nd floor king room. It was plenty big enough, had a vaulted ceiling, with a small room off the bathroom with a large mirror, counter, micro, and fridge. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean and adequate. The water pressure was good. The bath towels were fairly thick. The bed was pretty comfortable albeit maybe a touch too hard, but we slept well. The pillows weren't the best. The motel is right off Hwy 101, but we only noticed a little road noise early in the morning (6:00 a.m.). Breakfast was modest; waffles, cereal, juice, the usual. The motel is a 6 1/2 minute casual walk from the beach (I timed it). There is a big pool, but we didn't use it. The Ocean Palms is not fancy, but when we're on a road trip, we pretty much roll into town, check out the local attractions, check in, go back out for a while, eat dinner, come back, watch some TV and go to sleep. We don't need fancy, but do insist on a safe, quiet area, a clean room, and a reasonable price. The Ocean Palms offers all of those.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roadtrip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay for one night. Big rooms, very clean and comfortable. Close to a supermarket and many restaurants. Breakfast is included. Motel is close to the road, but it's not noisy. Very friendly staff. I really can recommend this location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Property: Ocean Palms Motel
Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing