We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very pleased” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Gustine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The motel on the outside well kept, rooms were very clean. Location was great, everything in Pismo was in walking distance. We will stay there every time we go. Great 4 days. I will tell my friends to stay there! Thanks Pismo palms.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HDFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    140
    70
    9
    10
See reviews for
59
154
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

if you're looking for a place to spend the night without breaking the bank, Ocean Palms is fine. We paid a total of $83 for a 2nd floor king room. It was plenty big enough, had a vaulted ceiling, with a small room off the bathroom with a large mirror, counter, micro, and fridge. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean and adequate. The water pressure was good. The bath towels were fairly thick. The bed was pretty comfortable albeit maybe a touch too hard, but we slept well. The pillows weren't the best. The motel is right off Hwy 101, but we only noticed a little road noise early in the morning (6:00 a.m.). Breakfast was modest; waffles, cereal, juice, the usual. The motel is a 6 1/2 minute casual walk from the beach (I timed it). There is a big pool, but we didn't use it. The Ocean Palms is not fancy, but when we're on a road trip, we pretty much roll into town, check out the local attractions, check in, go back out for a while, eat dinner, come back, watch some TV and go to sleep. We don't need fancy, but do insist on a safe, quiet area, a clean room, and a reasonable price. The Ocean Palms offers all of those.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roadtrip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay for one night. Big rooms, very clean and comfortable. Close to a supermarket and many restaurants. Breakfast is included. Motel is close to the road, but it's not noisy. Very friendly staff. I really can recommend this location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I've just been here for one night and I think is one of the best motel I've ever been. The room was very clean, they got everything(TV, fridge, towels, free wifi).
The structure of the motel is nice, the location too and there is also breakfast included. It was a good experience

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FedericoCasaletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed three days got in late the first night tried to sleep in but couldnt because was woke up by a leaf blower first then it was a pressure washer that the guy blew dirty muddy water all over our car not cool! Room was nice and clean bathroom way too small! Felt disrespected! And paid $400 for a rude wake up and dirty muddy car! Thanks alot!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyzNutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our family has been staying in Pismo Beach for over 20 years, we have stayed at almost every motel there. The Ocean Palms is one of the best and most accommodating at a very reasonable price. The owner, Bob and his family go out of their way to make sure that you have whatever you need to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean, the pool is great, it"s just a short walk to the beach and the breakfast (complete with waffles) is terrific!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Ocean Palms Motel. I had requested a room with the best possible WiFi connection because I had to do some work during my stay and this request was met without any problems. Bob, the owner, made sure that I was able to connect to the network and checked several times on me to make sure that I was able to do what I needed to do. (without being intrusive)
The room was a good size and very clean. The motel is close to the highway as well as the beautiful beach and the pier.

I would definitely stay again at this motel when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerryV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Property: Ocean Palms Motel
Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing