We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Overall, this little motel is a great deal. My girlfriend and I went for a quick weekend getaway for the weekend and only stayed one night. The location is great. We walked just about everywhere we wanted to go. The room was clean. The shower had great pressure and stayed hot for a long time. The owner checked us in and was super helpful. I would stay here again.

The only downside was the noise level. We could hear when the door closed to each room and heard the kids in the room next to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrysNugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    149
    74
    12
    10
See reviews for
64
164
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It was an absolute delight staying at Ocean Palms. Bob, the owner, is really nice and helpful - and the rooms are very well-equipped and maintained. In fact, I would go as far as saying that this is the best motel I have ever stayed in. The beds and pillows are super comfy, the shower is hot and strong, the ammenities are modern, and everything is very clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean, spacious room that provided a great place to rest our heads overnight while driving the PCH.
Friendly reception and ok complimentary breakfast, with usual muffins/toast/cereal etc.
Not really much going on in Pismo, but a good stopover point.
Overall good value for money motel .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pajtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice little Motel run by a nice guy called Bob. The Motel is offering excellent accomodation at a small price. We stayed there for two nights on our trip along the coastal highway. Room was on second floor. Spacious, with a high ceiling and well equipped. Comfy king size bed, big enough for the three of us (2 adult, 1 child) large flatscreen. Bath was spotless. Wifi worked fine. The rooms have no A/C which could be a setback when it's hot outside. We valued the heater, though warm at daytime it got quite chilly at night.
The pool is small but well kept. Highway is close but not much noise from traffic. Breakfast is the standard but ok. Food options and shops nearby though Pismo Beach offers not so much. I recommend a trip to SLO which is just 13 Miles.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor appear to be quiter - when going to SLO visit the Kreuzberg Cafe on Higuer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flomaxbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend and we were really impressed with how nice the rooms were for a really good price. It was clean, comfortable, and affordable. Great place for a quick trip on a budget!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent just one night here as we were passing through town doing a trip down highway 1. great spot with an amazing ocean view. Rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. lots of stuff to do here - pool, badminton, several ping pong tables, putting greens, and a massive checkers/chess board to play with. Staff was nice, and they serve a fairly decent light breakfast to get you on your way the next day. i would highly recommend a walk down the beach to the pier to take in the all the 'typical' so-cal beach sights - volleyball, surfers, kids running in the sand, and even a few crabs! ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel_henderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of an extended trip around California. We loved the motel, especially as we had come from an awful hotel in San Francisco. The rooms were really big and spacious, and everything looked new and clean. The motel pool was great, as was the breakfast. Owners were friendly. Locationwise it is perfect, short walk to the beach and restaurants. Really good value for money, I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eml211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,357 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Pismo Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Property: Ocean Palms Motel
Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing