We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you want a bath you will have to sit on the plug as it is designed not to stay down! Otherwise a very comfortable stay in a first floor room. The pool looked good but had only attracted a solitary duck during our stay. Breakfast was pastries and microwaveable breakfast bagels. Located just off the Interstate and very close to the beach area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    149
    74
    11
    10
See reviews for
63
164
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good - Staff helpful and polite. Room good size and clean. Good shower. Quiet room. Quite good value really as a stopover.

Not so Good - breakfast was basic, with little room to sit. No air con but had fan which worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy_R281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We used this motel as a one night stop over en route from Santa Cruz to Santa Barbara. It exceeded expectations for a budget hotel.
Clean and well maintained,friendly and polite staff. Room large and quiet and well equipped. Excellent shower.
Breakfast adequate.
Will use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed there on our way from LA to SF and it was just what you hope for: a clean room, clean bedding with plenty of pillows, clean bathroom with new granite and relatively quiet even though it sits by the highway ramp. The breakfast (coffee, cereals, muffins) works great if you're on the go and the waffle maker was a huge hit for the kids. Overall, a great deal for your money. We'll recommend this place and will stay there again.

Room Tip: I would ask for the tucked in rooms where the window/ door is as far removed from the highway as pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie71P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles....really lovely Motel. Perfect location as only a few minutes walk to the beach and close to the highway (so we didn't get lost!) Lovely owners and nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I visited this motel on 4/22/13-4/25/13 the room has a pool as well as the beach being in walking distance. I asked the maid for clean towels and I was told I needed to ask the manager. I told her u cleaned my room before I showered for the day I had taken a walk to see how close I was to the beach. I showered when I got back so I needed clean towels to bath that night or the next morning. Its pretty sad when they dont wanna give u clean towels because they're being cheap about it. You know people come for vacation and is likely to get in water multiple times during the day what are the suppose to dry off with after getting out the water as well as showering. I paid good money to stay there clean towels should not be an issue. I also had an incounter with the locals roaming the parking lot late night checking out the cars or should I say scoping out the cars and the belongs (those were the locals own words scoping out) so tell me what does that sound like to you?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tea1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear tea 1976,

I wanted to take the time to reply to your review regarding your recent stay at the ocean palms motel in pismo beach, we would like to make it clear that your room was cleaned in a timely mainly around your schedule and activities and that your room was refreshed with ample clean towels, for your use, i would also like to explain to you, that we have never refused extra towels to any of our guest staying with us all they need to do is ask the front desk, and we have always tried our hardest to provide what is needed, you also end by writing something that is ONLY your opinion and NOt true Facts so i would ask that you not do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

All we needed was a way station on our drive from Santa Cruz to Anaheim and this was the place. Very ordinary, tired room and furniture. Totally stripped down basic breakfast. Commercial muffins, dry cereal, waffle maker like many other places. Skipped breakfast and went to Starbucks. It was fine for what we needed, but nothing special. Not bad, not good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean palms Motel in Pismo Beach during your recent vacation, we strive to provide friendly service at budget friendly prices, with that in mind we offer a complimentary breakfast with all the basics of pastries, muffins two different cereals coffee and tea, orange juice and waffles we are sorry this was not to your liking, we will try to keep on improving with all guest suggestions.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,308 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,182 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Pismo Beach
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Property: Ocean Palms Motel
Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing