We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A good little motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Tulare, Ca
2 reviews
“A good little motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Ocean Palms was a pleasant, clean, and budget friendly little motel. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. They could use some newer towels and could improve on the breakfast, but we were otherwise very happy with it.

Room Tip: The rooms are really big for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkermama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    140
    70
    9
    10
See reviews for
59
154
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great area, beautiful beach, great service. If you're driving down the weat coast, this is the perfect place to stay along you way. I stayed here one night, stopped with no reservation and everything was full, thankfully the gentleman found me a room ! Nothing fancy, but clean. Not expensive, but decent. Enjoy !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were very positively surprised by this motel - room and bathroom were spacious, nice and clean. Bed was huge and comfy, we slept very well. Parking and wifi was for free. Motel is close to the beach, check the pier with a lot of pelicans, they are really cute.
We would definitely recommend this motel, you will get good quality for low price.
Just don´t count on breakfast, there is almost nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first time staying at Ocean Palms Motel & we were very pleased with the room. It was clean and beautifully decorated with all the necessary Amenities. The rates were very reasonable. We will definately return for years to come when we want to come to Pismo Beach!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good-value. Big, clean but dark rooms. Easy to find and walking distance to the beach. Extremely unfriendly, unhelpful staff. The manager tried to cheat us, giving us a "good prize" when we wanted to extend our stay which was higher than booking on the net. Bad breakfast (pastries and old coffee). The pool (cold) is a joke, guests can't use it since they lock the gates.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size, chose a room with one queen bed which gives you more space and a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaKatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

You hate to spend a lot of money on a motel when you're just traveling through, and after reading Trip Advisor reviews we made a reservation here. We still spent more than we wanted to, but hey, it's Pismo Beach. The motel was full up and, after some upstairs partying kept us up all night at another motel, we were worried about being in a first-floor room. To our relief, we had a quiet night--other than Hwy.101 traffic noise. (We had to open the front window because the room was too hot for us Northwesterners and could not be adjusted. Thank goodness for iPods!) The owner/manager was friendly and the room was clean. We didn't bother with the meager breakfast offering but instead hightailed it to Linnaea's Cafe in San Luis Obispo. Message to the owners: Please invest in some new white towels and washcloths. Tea-colored towels are just unappealing.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms always a better bet for a quiet night, but we lucked out in our first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here with my husband on our pacific coast drive. We had a first floor room which had a lovely high ceiling a large bed. The place was clean and the shower was good. There was a coffee machine, fridge and a microwave.
The breakfast was OK, we'd had better along our trip, I would have liked to see a bit of fruit but there was cereal, pastries, tea, coffee and a waffle maker.
The motel is not far from the beach and is at the end of a street of restaurants and shops. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_schof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Property: Ocean Palms Motel
Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing