We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, close to beach, unfriendly staff.”
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good-value. Big, clean but dark rooms. Easy to find and walking distance to the beach. Extremely unfriendly, unhelpful staff. The manager tried to cheat us, giving us a "good prize" when we wanted to extend our stay which was higher than booking on the net. Bad breakfast (pastries and old coffee). The pool (cold) is a joke, guests can't use it since they lock the gates.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size, chose a room with one queen bed which gives you more space and a table...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdaKatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Palms Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 327 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

You hate to spend a lot of money on a motel when you're just traveling through, and after reading Trip Advisor reviews we made a reservation here. We still spent more than we wanted to, but hey, it's Pismo Beach. The motel was full up and, after some upstairs partying kept us up all night at another motel, we were worried about being in a first-floor room. To our relief, we had a quiet night--other than Hwy.101 traffic noise. (We had to open the front window because the room was too hot for us Northwesterners and could not be adjusted. Thank goodness for iPods!) The owner/manager was friendly and the room was clean. We didn't bother with the meager breakfast offering but instead hightailed it to Linnaea's Cafe in San Luis Obispo. Message to the owners: Please invest in some new white towels and washcloths. Tea-colored towels are just unappealing.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms always a better bet for a quiet night, but we lucked out in our first floor room...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here with my husband on our pacific coast drive. We had a first floor room which had a lovely high ceiling a large bed. The place was clean and the shower was good. There was a coffee machine, fridge and a microwave.
The breakfast was OK, we'd had better along our trip, I would have liked to see a bit of fruit but there was cereal, pastries, tea, coffee and a waffle maker.
The motel is not far from the beach and is at the end of a street of restaurants and shops. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_schof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I wouldn't rate it quite as high as some but it is a very well run motel. Reception was very helpful (though we had limited interaction with them) and the motel is obviously very well maintained and very clean. Modern TV, comfortable bed etc but no bath. We were just stopping to break our SF to LA drive and it was fine for that and location is probably good for a longer stay - with walking access to sea, tourist shops and restaurants. We did get some quite loud highway noise when we arrived and this initially concerned us but we didn't notice this at all later in the evening. Didn't have breakfast as it looked very basic and we thought there were more interesting places to dine. We couldn't work out the AC as we only seemed to get heat despite it being a warm day - but the night cooled anyway so we didn't bother to ask for help - maybe we were just to lazy to work it out properly.

Room Tip: If noise is a big issue for you might be wise to choose a room furthest from the highway but not a m...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabond210, Front Office Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write about your recent stay at the ocean palms motel, we appreciate your positive remarks, we are sorry to read that you wrote there are no baths, i would like to let you know that we do have some rooms with bath tubs available if you request it,the room you rented was with a shower, please make sure you request a bath tub, on your next stay with us.


Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am from the Uk - san fran to LA
friendly reception staff. good clean room.
microwave present.
breakfast ok, beaware of the milk - check it 1st to see if you want to put it on your cereal - possibly just white water??

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank physio uk l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabond210, Front Office Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your recent stay at the ocean palms motel, we are glad you took advantage of the complimentary breakfast we have offer, i would like to give you an explanation to your comment regarding the milk. We do offer fat free skimmed milk, which guest mostly prefer and that is the one we had out and do offer whole milk on request, we are sorry the front desk did not relate this to you,
we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed on the second floor - high wood ceilings.Very clean and quiet. Excellent service and friendly host. Breakfast included waffles, cereal and juice.We consider this motel a very good value. Renovations currently under way.

Room Tip: We prefer second floor because of cathedral ceiling.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good location, a short walk down the hill to the beach. Sparkling clean and Bob is the perfect host. I had messed up our booking, but Bob sorted it out in no time - phew! The added bonus is that at breakfast I had the best cup of tea I'd had anywhere in the USA. Would definitely recommend this motel to travellers looking for somewhere decent, that doesn't break the bank.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank janchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,013 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,421 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
882 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $76 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing