We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and clean home from home”
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good location, a short walk down the hill to the beach. Sparkling clean and Bob is the perfect host. I had messed up our booking, but Bob sorted it out in no time - phew! The added bonus is that at breakfast I had the best cup of tea I'd had anywhere in the USA. Would definitely recommend this motel to travellers looking for somewhere decent, that doesn't break the bank.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank janchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 334 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I chose Ocean Palms Motel because of its perfect location. Although we arrived in town just shortly before needing to leave for our engagement, we still had adequate time to explore Pomeroy Avenue by foot. The manager, Bob, was very helpful and informative about the town and knew the location of all the businesses I asked about. The room was much more pleasant than I expected. It was very clean and met our needs wonderfully. Although it is close to the highway, (all hotels and motels in Pismo are relatively close to the highway as it is a small town that runs along the 101) the highway noise was no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gringo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The best hotel on our trip!! Cool location, big and clean room, huge and comfortable beds, bath room/wash basin is separate. TV, free WiFi, free parking, pool, short way to the beach, breakfast included. Bob the Manager is very friendly and helpful. Would go there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A great place just off the 101. Yes it is close to the freeway but with the window closed this didnt bother us at all. We had a fan in our room which was more than adequate in the absence of any air con. Comfortable, clean rooms which were more than adequate for our needs. Reception were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very basic but functional. Highly recommended for a stay in Pismo Beach, good starting point for exploring the Big Sur and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southwales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

On a recent trip along the central coast with my 87 year-old-mother we drove into this hotel 'blind'. We needed two rooms and Bob offered a discount, which was appreciated. The highway noise, as mentioned by others is a bit of a problem, but certainly not the worst. My mother is a very picky eater so the juice was the only breakfast option she could accept. You probably want to go out for breakfast. The rooms are simple but clean. Bob and his wife are the highlights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriedaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Newly updated property in a very good location next to Hwy 101. Noise from highway was not a problem because of double paned windows that blocked out noise. Walking distance to Pismo Beach pier and nice eateries. Reasonably priced. Appreciate the free WiFi, flat screen TV, refrigerator, coffee maker, free breakfast (Waffles, pastries, OJ, coffee, tea) and nice and efficient staff. Would recommend larger pillows or more pillows for comfortable King size bed.
I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55Lynne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We chose it for the excellent price, and we were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and staff. Although it is an older motel near the highway, the bed was new & firm, the furniture in excellent condition with flat screen tv, microwave & fridge, and everything was clean. The highway noise was minimal and didn't disturb us at all. The beach is only a few blocks down the street and there's a nice Italian restaurant across the street. The motel staff was friendly and helpful, and Bob was superb. He went over the top to ensure our total satisfaction. Really a great guy and huge asset to this motel. I highly recommend this place to anyone who doesn't need to be right on the beach in the most modern setting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,442 reviews
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,063 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#24 of 29 in Pismo Beach
157 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $69 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing