We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Palms”
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
La Crescenta, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ocean Palms”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Excellent rooms very comfortable, clean, & spacious. The decor was updated and pleasant. There was a microwave and fridge which came in handy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is 3 blocks from the beach and within walking distance if you don't have a lot of stuff to carry. Just a few blocks south of the main part of town. Affordable and a good value. Checed out the pool which was also well maintained.
I would definiely stay there and recommend them to friends and family.

Room Tip: I stayed close to the office. The room was quiet and comfortable despite being full to capacity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    149
    74
    12
    10
See reviews for
64
164
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Let's get real: This is not a 5-Star up-scale motel overlooking the ocean. It's not meant to be. But it definitely is a comfortable, clean, convenient, friendly & truly reasonable place that I'd recommend to anyone looking for just that. I requested a quiet upstairs room and got exactly that for 4 nights. Adjacent to but well "below" Hwy 101, it is surprisingly quiet, easy to find, near the pier and many restaurants, with free wi-fi, microwave, fridge and coffee/tea maker, you can't get more "convenient." Bed was firm (not hard) and room service very good. I had good cross-draft ventilation windows; no need for A/C. Heater available for cool nights. (I didn't use.) I found Bob and his nice wife to be truly friendly and reasonable people.

Room Tip: I was in Room 18, upstairs, back corner. Very quiet, very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We are trying to cancel our reservation as I am writing this review. The mean rude man at the front desk told us to buzz off. He said he could not cancel the reservation. DON'T EVEN TRY TO STAY HERE. We are appalled at this reaction to our wanting to cancel a week ahead of time. Their rule is by 24 hours ahead. You may email me at: emailme33800@yahoo.com if you want to find out what happens. I am sickened by this place.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanpalmmotel, Owner at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
I am sorry for the inconvenience this may have cause you. We have reviewed your complaint and have noticed that your reservation was made through a third party internet booking and not directly at Ocean Palms Motel. Since it was a third party reservation you must cancel the reservation with them because we have no authority to cancel them. This is what our front desk manager was trying to explain to you when you asked to cancel your reservation. Again, I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused and if you would like more information regarding this matter please feel free to email us at info@oceanpalmsmotelpismobeach.com. But once again, please make sure you are aware of the terms and conditions before making reservations with third party networks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This Motel is really good. The owner, Bob, is very friendly. Because it was one of my last nights in the States, he gave me a room for 60$ (tax included). There was a refrigeator, a microwave, a tv, wifi for free and a clean bathroom and breakfast was for free, too.
Thanks, Bob!

P.S.: Forget about Motel6 ;)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bachi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here for two nights this week. The motel is located up Ocean View Drive, three blocks from Pismo Pier, near Rosa's Restaurant. Walking to the pier is an easy stroll. It is an older place that has been remodeled. The current owners have done a nice job and the place looks good. Unfortunately, they can't overcome flaws that were created when the place was built. First, the hotel faces towards the mountains, instead of the sea. That was probably a good thing before the Internet, when people drove along the highway looking for places to stay. Second, the rooms are "cozy". Big enough for two (comfortable) double beds or a king, a TV, dresser, and little else. The closet area includes a counter-height refrigerator, coffee-maker, and a microwave. Bathrooms have been remodeled and are adequate. There is no air conditioning, and fortunately, I brought a fan from home. The pool is large, new, and heated, (but just barely). Coffee, Tang, and muffins/sweet rolls are included for breakfast. (We paid $99 per nite with tax).
The biggest problem I had here is there is no view...just a parking lot. If you are looking for a place to sleep, this motel is fine, but as a getaway destination, it is lacking. I would have no problem staying here again, (managers are very cordial), but would prefer to be closer to "the action".

Room Tip: Single story rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield,CA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I read the reviews of this place before we booked so I already knew it wasnt some posh place. Believe it or not Pismo was actually warm and our room was hot! No air conditioning or even a fan. The bed was really hard so i didnt get much sleep. The towels were also stained and scratchy. There was some good things. Location is great! A few blocks from Pismo's main area, and the freeway is right there, close to the outlets. The pool area was nice too.

Room Tip: ask for single level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

After reading some of the positive and negative comments on the internet, I was really not sure what I was in for. We needed a pet-friendly location and this was the only affordable option left by the time we booked our hotel room.

On arrival at the hotel, we were met by Bob at the Front Desk. He was extremely friendly and our check-in went smoothly. We were placed in the single story section of the motel, so we had no one above us, which was nice. The furnishings are older but the room was very clean...especially the bathroom. We received daily housekeeping. The room had a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. We also borrowed a fan from housekeeping for the warmer days. The wireless internet was easy to connect to. While it is true that the facility is older, the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the staff made up for it.

There is a clean pool that was rarely used. It is near the freeway onramp, but they have double pane windows - I wore earplugs just in case. What I really liked is that at the back of the parking lot they have a nice grassy area where I could take my dog. There was a trashcan conveniently located there also. We towed a motorcycle and were able to put our small trailer and bike in a corner of the parking lot that was not conducive for parking cars...but perfect for our trailer and motorcycle. We were very thankful that Bob extended this option to us. (Especially on the holiday weekend)

If I was not taking my dog, I would have booked the Hilton and never stayed here ...but since I love my Bella girl and I had such a good experience here...I will be back to visit the Ocean Palms Motel again in the future.

Thank you to Bob and his wife for their gracious hospitality!

Room Tip: Ask for the single story portion of the building. It is on the ground floow with no one above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trailbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,358 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Pismo Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Property: Ocean Palms Motel
Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing