We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we still laugh about this place.”
Review of Blue Seal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Seal Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“we still laugh about this place.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

ok so all i wanted to do in my time in america was go to pismo beach. after growing up listening to many references to it by bugs bunny on looney toons i was very excited! now the blue seal. well it is definitely cheap. it suited our budget and was for only one night on our way to san fran so we decided to give it a go. the price even included free wifi. so the room wasnt very clean but certainly doable for one night. the bathroom ensured that we would wait for the next stop to have a shower. we decided to order in some pizza for dinner and couldn't understand why it wasnt working. after a bit of investigating it turned out that it wasnt a cordless phone - and it had no cord. no worries, they sorted it out. we then, after ordering our pizza, thought we would check out what was on the TV. Hmm it wasn't working either. turns out there was no aerial for it. no worries. my mate and i after performing some contortionist moves managed to fish it out from behind the TV and plug it in. it really wasnt as easy as it sounds but there was no way i was going back to reception. the light breakfast included consisted of coffee and a couple of blueberry muffins. i probably wouldnt recommend it. i must say though, right over the other side of town in a block of shops just back from the water sells THE BEST cinnamon rolls i tried in america. THE BEST.

march 2012

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allslantylike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    18
    14
    36
See reviews for
25
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great spot. Just need a/c for the summer. Rooms get pretty hot. It was a great location, very close to everything necessary to have a good time. Very well priced for a week day rate. The room was cleaned very well& left neat. Excellent front desk customer service &well trained staff. Only problem was the room temperature got very high during the day & the room had no cooling unit or ceiling fan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pussylicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to Pismo Beach and decided to give this place a try because it was recommended by a local business owner. We remembered stopping by there once before but couldn't remember why we didn't stay. I walked in the lobby and the smell was disgusting. I'm not sure what kind of smell it is but now I remember why we didn't stay. There was an elderly lady at the counter who put up her index finger and said, "Wait." Another female came to the counter to help me and she was very nice. I asked how much the rooms were and was told that they were $139 a night!! I can only rate what I saw or smelled. I'll never stay in a motel that smells like that in the lobby because I can only imagine what the rooms smell like. I'm giving the Blue Seal a "Terrible" rating on "cleanliness" because of the odor in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pismo Beach hotels

Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Blue Seal is on the old highway one, a small old-fashioned motor lodge type but it has been lovingly spruced up by the current owners. Everything inside and out has been freshly painted and the bathrooms have been refurbished. Our room was quite small but had a queen bed and a newer flat screen TV, and served our needs for a one night stay very nicely. At approx. $60 for a wkend rate it was a fair price considering the good location. The desk manager was very friendly and helped us connect to the free wifi service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

we arrived in this motel with a coupon and we paid 55€ per night for a double room. the room was decent and clean. the position is good (3 minutes walking distance from the center of the town that is really small). furnishings were not modern but we didn't spend a lot of tme in the room so , at the end, the motel was ok

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank froggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were driving up the coast out of season, so could have taken our pick of places at Pismo Beach, but it was dark and late and we wanted somewhere to stop off and get some sleep so pulled into the Blue Seal. It was a friendly welcome, the room was cheap given the coastal location, and I liked the quaint blue buildings! It was walking distance into town and to the Pier. It is not exceptional, but I felt for the money we got a good safe, comfortable clean room, and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipx69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Last night we stayed in a Red Roof Inn in Monterey for $130, there were bugs in the bathroom, carpet was dirty and the toilet wasn't bolted down and then it decided not to flush! We came go Pismo today with no reservations and decided to check the blue seal, the front desk clerk/manager? Was exceptionally nice, got us extra pillows and gave us a great rate. Room is a little dated but just fine for what we need it for, sleep and shower. Location is walking distance to everything. I would def come back to the blue seal.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajo628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#15 of 29 in Pismo Beach
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Pismo Beach
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pismo Beach Hotel
Pismo Beach Hotel
#21 of 29 in Pismo Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Inn
Ocean Breeze Inn
#24 of 29 in Pismo Beach
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
#19 of 29 in Pismo Beach
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seal Inn

Property: Blue Seal Inn
Address: 230 Dolliver St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2664
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Seal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Seal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Seal Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing