We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT fish tacos!”
Review of Steamers of Pismo - CLOSED

Steamers of Pismo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dolliver
Lake Arrowhead
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“GREAT fish tacos!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a wonderful lunch at Steamers! Full-on fantastic ocean view! Great server and interesting menu. We had one order of grilled salmon tacos and one order of grilled cod tacos, and split them. Both were really delicious! At $12 per order, a bit pricey for fish tacos, but absolutely delicious. I also highly recommend the wine flights; wonderful!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lake Arrowhead Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    202
    103
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Steamers on Valentines Day & a Wedding”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

For our wedding reception, we leveraged Steamers on a busy Valentines day afternoon. The staff were great, and the bill was very reasonable for the 20 people and cake cutting. On top of all of that, the view was just impeccable!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvsadog
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Steamers”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great restaurant -- a little pricey, but delicious. The scallops special was wonderful, as was the creme brulee and the chardonnay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvsadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner for young family of 5!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Arrived to the restaurant without a reservation and after 5 minutes were given a comfortable table close to the window. Patrick our server quickly attended to us and was knowledgeable and helpful in directing us to pick items the kids would enjoy. The dinner came out in a timely manner but unfortunately one of the kids got the wrong item served. Patrick quickly came to the table apologized for having ordered the wrong item and in less than 5 minutes the correct item was brought to us. Mistakes happen to us all but to have our server recognize his error and so quickly rectify it was great. Other than this small glitch the remainder of our meal was wonderful. Great service! Patrick then took the time to give us a locals point of view and give us some insider tips on the best places to visit the following day. Can't wait to visit his suggested destinations! Thanks Steamers and Patrick for the perfect ending to our first day on vacation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank befkatela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overall? Overpriced”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our first time at Steamers. Seated quickly which was great. Ordered drinks (lemon drop martini was delicious and you got a lot so that was a good value). One of our diners had a severe peanut allergy and wanted fried shrimp. We informed the waiter, and asked what type of oil they use. He wasn't sure, so said he'd check. He informed us that he could not have the shrimp. I asked if it was because of the oil, and he said he wasn't sure. Decided on a burger instead. Waiter came out after quite a while and said no fried onions would be on the burger. No problem. Then when the food finally came out, they realized that the burger DID have the fried onions on it, and they would have to remake it. Then he said that the fries would not be ok either (so clearly the oil), and said it would come with veggies. Asked for mashed potatoes instead of fries, and waiter said they might be able to do a "side" (meaning an extra charge), but at that point, he had waited so long for his food, son said fine with the veggies and got a few spears of asparagus. REALLY? You mess up on his meal, and can't substitute mashed potatoes for fried ones? Was surprised by the lack of flexibility. Another in our party got jambalaya and didn't finish half. Described it as rice with tomato sauce and a few pieces of meat. On the upside, the burgers were good, the seafood fondue was good, and crab and shrimp cocktail got kudos as well. Given our experience and the price, we'll find another of the many wonderful places to dine in Pismo, and cross Steamers off the list of must-do's for next trip!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamers of Pismo also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing