We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Locals and travelers alike agree!”
Review of Cracked Crab

Cracked Crab
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Locals and travelers alike agree!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Cracked Crab restaurant is unpretentious, lively, accommodating and fun! This restaurant has folks lined up out the door, waiting for a table...so get there early or plan to wait (you will be glad you did!). The food is "all things crab" plus other fresh seafood, assorted salads, chicken and steaks. The tabletops are lined with white butcher paper, so there is no worry about being neat when you crack away, getting every morsel of crab you can out of the shell. This place has an excellent local wine menu (SLO, Paso Robles and surrounding areas) which is great, because this is a fabulous area for wine. The staff is very knowledgable, friendly and attentive. We had a bucket of crab and the seafood enchiladas. YUM. If you order the local abalone appetizer though, be prepared to eat it in one bite. It is not the abalone steak dish from yester year. All in all a great experience and an easy walk from the hotels in town that line the beach. We won't miss a chance to dine here whenever we come back to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    256
    78
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atwater
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I were passing through Pismo area and looked on Trip Advisor for somewhere to have lunch. Cracke Crab had good reviews so we tried it out. Didn't have crab. We prefer fish and we both ordered fish entree. Both were very good Would go back if in the area again. Looked like the people have crab were having fun and enjoying it. The place has character.
It was busy on a friday early afternoon but not too busy for a quick in and out and back on the road again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fwbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with great service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were from LA travelling to Carmel, and Pismo was our lunch stop. We had a good lunch at Cracked Crab. Nice and relaxing ambience, very warm service from the staff. Simply felt so welcome when we entered the restaurant.

Great variety of seafood and simply delicious and fresh!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The-SCH-World-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Date Night”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was so much fun! We have not experienced the joy of throwing your dinner on the table!! Marvelous King Crab (the BEST), Snow Crab, Shrimp, Corn of the Cob, Potatoes, Sausage..Excellent Service! We waited for a table, but so worth it..enjoyed seeing what other customers ordered! Can't wait to go back.

J & L Owens

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so good we went there twice!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Found out about cracked crab just before we went on honeymoon, weren't sure how busy it would be so booked a table. Food was immense we shared the big bucket of crab etc, sooooooo good. Staff were great, even got a free cheesecake to celebrate our honeymoon! Great value. Coming back down to LA at the end of our honeymoon we couldn't resist going again on our way through. Again service was great, big bucket was so good we had that again, but also shared some clam chowder. Fantastic. Hope to go back again one day

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Crab also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cracked Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing