We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so good we went there twice!”
Review of Cracked Crab

Cracked Crab
Ranked #2 of 105 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so good we went there twice!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Found out about cracked crab just before we went on honeymoon, weren't sure how busy it would be so booked a table. Food was immense we shared the big bucket of crab etc, sooooooo good. Staff were great, even got a free cheesecake to celebrate our honeymoon! Great value. Coming back down to LA at the end of our honeymoon we couldn't resist going again on our way through. Again service was great, big bucket was so good we had that again, but also shared some clam chowder. Fantastic. Hope to go back again one day

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    270
    81
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Plenty of Good Eating!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had heard of the Cracked Crab and decided to stop for lunch in Pismo Beach on our way to Santa Barbara. We're mightly glad that we did as the bucket of seafood kept us talking and eating for some days thereafter. Relatively small but with an extremely friendly staff, our meal was fresh, fast and absolutely delicious! Yes, we know that "dumping" the bucket on the table sounds somewhat corny, but it absolutely fit the casual seafood-by-the-sea ambience of the place. If you're driving down PCH and you feel the need to indulge in some fresh shellfish, please do yourself a favor and stop here. You won't regret any of it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judrose182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good service, average food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We decided to have seafood while staying in Pismo Beach on a drive down the coast. This restaurant was highly rated on TripAdvisor, so we decided to give it a try. The restaurant was busy at 5:20pm, and they only had a table for two (perfect for us) - but there was already a line outside waiting for tables. The service was good, even if a bit "canned." The manager checked in on us twice. We ordered a bucket for two, and there was a sufficient amount of food. However, although the food was fresh and hot, the seafood was average. We didn't care for the sausage, and the potatoes weren't much. The crab and shrimp were tasty, but not worth more than a mention. Watch out for up selling, they are quite good at it, and you may not even realize it is happening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best seafood restraurant on the central coast”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We try to get to this restaurant on every visit to the coast. The service is great and the food is fantastic and we have never had a bad meal at this restaurant and this time the manage came out personaly to answer a question and it was near closing so we knew he was busy and thanked him for taking the time out to answer our question. The desserts are fantastic as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrvacation13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go hungry”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you go for the bucket, be sure you are hungry. Good value for two. Good service and food. Will return next time in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Crab also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cracked Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing