We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Crab on the Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cracked Crab

Cracked Crab
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Crab on the Coast”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I brought my family here on our way up the coast when we decided to stop for dinner in Pismo Beach. The wait was fairly long and they don't take reservations but it was worth every single minute. Needless to say, the best crab we've ever had. The service was impeccable. Jennifer had our drinks out right away and got everyone set up with bibs for our cab feast. I suggest requesting her as your server when you come. Excellent service, and did I mention it's the best crab anywhere?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OCRoadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    255
    75
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovers of seafood!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Husband and I, have been to Pismo beach many times. We've always wanted to try this place, so on our last visit, we decided to give it a try. Luckily there wasn't a wait, and got seated right away!.The service was great and our waitress was more than happy, to answer any of our questions...We decided on the bucket for 2, and chose the Alaskan Crab legs, mussels and jumbo shrimp. The meal came and was dumped in the middle of our table. Fun!...Everything was delicious, but next time, we'll order only the Alaskan Crab since we love crab!...They give you more than enough, and even had leftovers, which we gave to a homeless man, at the pier...The price is a little high, but since we were able to feed 3, well worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2luvrsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Hungry for Crab”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Wife and I went for dinner around 5pm on a Tuesday for dinner. The restaurant was already busy and we were put on the waiting list. The restaurant is very small with a few tables and small wine and beer bar. The wait was only about 10 minutes. We were seat dinner order taken. Drinks came in a couple of minutes and main order taken. We decided on the Cajun Crab Boil Bucket for Two. About 15 minutes the main order came and dumped on the table just like in the South. There were two types of crab, large shrimp, Cajun sausage, potatoes and corn-on-the-cob. The wait staff kept check to ensure everything was ok and if we needed anything. The food was very good and enough to fill you up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurpleDancingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Experience and Tasty Crab”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Always wanted to try the places that unload the seafood onto your table and we were not disappointed. We are a family of 4 and got the bucket as well as a burger for my son (who is not a seafood fan). The bucket was fine, enough for us, came with Alaskan Crab legs, corn etc.
We arrived around 7 and had to wait 30 mins for a table and I hear it can get a lot worse, so come early.
Service was adequate, doesn't really stand out in any way,wasn't great but wasn't awful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hades68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“hoppin' little place”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very kitschy seaside crab place, family friendly, and great food and service. No reservations, get there early. Then you can walk down to the pier.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Crab also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cracked Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing