We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll never stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach House Inn and Suites
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Kerman, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I'll never stay there again!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stay in Pismo all the time but this was my first time here. I actually had a reservation for over a year, having to reschedule many times due to life. One month before my stay I called to confirm and found out that the price had gone up for the summer rates and no one had made me aware of it prior. I was upset because I wasn't planning on paying that much for a room but it was too late to find something else for my family of 5 for a reunion I was going to be attending.
The lady I delt with was Patty and she was rude and very short with me constantly cutting me off when I talked. She moved me around in different rooms Never apologizing for Her mistakes.
The first night we were there we had my brother and his 3 kids come over to eat with us. He was staying down the road at the Dolphins Cove hotel. I get a phone call from the owner at the front desk accusing me of sneaking in guests and that if my brother wanted to hang out that long that he should have rented from them. ???!!!!! WTH!
She spoke to me like I was a child staying in someone's home.
The next night I needed an iron and they didn't have one in the room.........they had an ironing board but no iron.? I called at 7:00 on Saturday night and the office was closed and no one answered or returned my calls at all! I never got my iron or an apology.
This was the manager's number too!
When I checked out, Carol who was the ONLY one to ever apologize and was polite, said she was sorry my stay went that way, but that was all I got.
Oh ya, there's No window cooler either! If you want ventilation at night you have to open the balcony door and the bedroom window. Not safe!
For $319 + a night I could have stayed at most of the hotels near by who also have kitchenettes and ocean views!
They were full of crazy rules and had no guest service what so ever.
I've Never Been spoken to by hotel staff that way and I didn't do anything wrong!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnD197832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
44
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We couldn't have ordered better weather. Blue skies and balmy warm breeze. The private balcony allowed us to sleep with the door open and hear the ocean waves all night. The full size frig and microwave gave us some ideas for our next trip. fully appointed with china, wine glasses and even a corkscrew.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed one night here on a Saturday night in July. This hotel is a relatively small, privately owned hotel. I didn't actually ask but I think it has about 15-20 rooms. The owner's/manager live onsite. It has three levels and a gated underground parking basement. We stayed in room #304 (on the 3rd floor). The view from the room patio was okay. Half of the view is of building roof tops, due to this hotel being about one block up from the beach. No big deal though. It has a living room area with two sofa's and a tv. There is a kitchenette with a refrigerator, microwave, stove, sink, and a small dining table. One bathroom with one sink and a tub/shower combo. And the separate bedroom with a queen sized bed and tv.

Pros:

-Great location.
-Room size was good.
-The refrigerator was full size, not the smaller one that are sometimes in rooms.
-Microwave.
-Separate bedroom sleeping area.
-Two TV's with DVD players.
-Free DVD library in office so you can pick some out to watch in your room.
-Very secure building at night as parking basement is gated and pedestrian entrance is also gated (key card needed to enter)
-Employees were very courteous.
-Two nightstands in the bedroom (it really annoys me when there is only one).

Cons:

-Pricey. We paid $299.00 plus tax for one night. I think it came to $335.00 total. The manager that helped us said that $299.00 was marked down and our room was usually $320.00 plus tax.
-The furniture is not really my style, kind of old fashioned.
-The TV's are the old school tube sets. They should really be updated.
-Having a stove is great but there are no pots and pans. There is a sign that says if you need pots and pans, you can request them, and there will be a cleaning fee of $30.00.
-No pool or hot tub.

In conclusion, I'm not sure if I will return due to the price but overall I liked the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honest-traveler-4-u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent one night at the Beach House inn and wished it could have been a longer stay,
. It was a lovely suite with all the amenities, the best part the ocean front location. We stepped out onto the beach and the pier, and enjoyed the weekly Farmers Market there. The hotel was well kept and well priced, and had a working fireplace for the cool evenings. The only suggestion I would have is to include better deck furniture--it was rather sparse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valbill071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Best downtown hotel in Pismo Beach with exceptional views and great location! My family and I stayed on the second floor in a family suite with a separate bedroom. It had a kitchenette, a full size refrigerator, DVD player, and an enormous video library (free). When traveling with children this is a plus! The room was beautiful and our stay was relaxing.
This place is also steps away from the Pismo Pier, Brads and the Splash Café an tons of shops. Another great feature to mention is the secured gated parking garage. We will definitely be returning and strongly recommend this hotel. Check it out.

Room Tip: Second floor suites are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was wary of staying at the Beach House Inn because of their underwhelming website, which seems to feature the ugly bedspread and not the stunning views. However, I am happy to report that the website doesn't do the place justice. It is literally steps from the beach and Pismo Pier, a block away from restaurants and wine bars, and features balconies with incredible views of the coastline. It also features free, secure indoor parking (a nice plus)!

I stayed on the 3rd (and top) floor, with a lovely balcony that had a several chairs and a small table, which was perfect for cracking open a bottle of wine and watching the sunset. Although the kitchenette was stocked with wine glasses and silverware, there was no wine opener. Fortunately, I brought my own!

The spacious room was comfortable, modern and clean. I would have preferred a newer tv, especially since there was no wifi available, but honestly, I just kept staring at that gorgeous view. Oh, and there's a gas fireplace to keep you warm when the cool night air is blowing in off the balcony. The room-darkening curtains allowed me to sleep in, which is wonderful on a vacation. The bathroom was large and had nice water pressure in the shower.

There were a few odd details which reminded me that I wasn't at a full service chain hotel. Someone went crazy with the label-maker, because everything in the room had instructions, from the shower faucet, to the fireplace, to the front door latch! I found it amusing, actually.

I would give this place one more star if it had wifi, a flat-screen tv, and a nicer bedspread. It's a little pricey for not having these amenities. But would I stay there again? In a heartbeat...

Room Tip: I'd request a top floor room, if available. They have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14clams, Manager at Beach House Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review after your stay at Beach House Inn & Suites. We appreciate your comments and welcome ideas to improve every experience. Our staff works diligently to make every stay a memorable one. We apologize for the inconvenience of the Wi-Fi due to an outage beyond our control and although the labels may seem trivial it's a must for our travelers coming from abroad. Our new website should be up and running soon. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Clean rooms, comfy beds, nice balconies, and beautiful beach views. This beach front property is a wonderful place to stay. It also has a private parking garage that is locked in the evening, as well as the door to get in and out of the property. After hours you need to use your room key to get in. It is located directly behind Splash Cafe, and is within walking distance to everything, and a stones throw from the beach (almost, anyway). I also quite like that it is independently owned & the owner is friendly. This is my hotel of choice everytime I visit Pismo Beach. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,130 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Inn and Suites

Property: Beach House Inn and Suites
Address: 198 Main St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2629
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a 24 hour front desk. Welcome to elegance on the beach. Just steps from the sandy beach and the magnificent Pacific Ocean, we're your home away from home. Enjoy the convenience of staying in one of our 14 beautifully designed studio or master suites with spectacular ocean views and breathtaking sunsets from your private balcony.Located near the Pismo Pier in the heart of downtown shopping and dining excitement, our spacious suites are stylishly furnished with kitchenettes and comfortable seating areas for gathering after a day of fun at the beach or nearby wine country. No wonder Beach House Inn and Suites is the favorite getaway spot for travelers wanting all the comforts of home and all the luxuries of a hotel at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beach House Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing