We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was good, not as great as it used to be.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of F McLintocks Saloon & Dining

F McLintocks Saloon & Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
F McLintocks Saloon & Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shell Beach Road
Transit: Bus stop in front of restaurant.
Description: F. McLintocks Saloon & Dining House offers the best authentic ranch style cooking and atmosphere teamed up with high spirited service and genuine western hospitality.
Visalia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food was good, not as great as it used to be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

It has been awhile since I've been to McLintocks. The food was good. Our server was nice, but failed to tell us the specials of the evening. It used to be so lively. Waiters on top of chairs singing. Maybe we got there to early.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Romanticgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    118
    52
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had great hopes for this place based upon the cowboy decor, and the animal heads on the wall. As usual with a place that looks like fun, the food is just not great. I did like my drink (over-priced that it was) which was a Cowboy Paradise. Dinner included a salad that was just about all lettuce except for two grape tomatoes and two pieces of cucumber, grilled chicken with a bone sticking up, and beans that had no flavor. Onion rings were cold and greasy. Glad I only had to go there the one time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank crazytracy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great but VERY pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The steaks were incredible, the potatoes & beans seemed very homey to me, something I make at home. For the $35 ribeye I ordered, I would have liked my choice of potato, a great salad & forget the extra veg. The onion rings that everyone gets as an app were frozen but tasty. A special touch was the after dinner drink was a great touch, but after the "Mason jar" drink before dinner....be VERY careful. A DUI is NOT worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clamnmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food, atmosphere,and wait staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

At Pismo last week and we ate at F McLintocks for birthday dinner. The steak and all sides were really good. Some of best garlic mashed potatoes I have had. Great pleasant waiters, lot of students from Cal Poly and were enjoyable to talk to. If not enough to eat like other reviewers have reported we got after dinner drink or ice cream. Then to top that a big sundae and "happy birthday" sung to me. I had eaten there several years ago and also went to their bar downtown SLO. Would go again if I make it out there. Fun place, good food, great people and view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank silverstreak60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Fun Steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have eaten here numerous times and never been disappointed. The steaks are always cooked perfectly, but then you would expect that from any steak house. What makes this place so good are the side dishes they serve. The fried potatoes and beans are great. That they can take two simple sides and turn out something this good really speaks well of the kitchen staff.

A friendly informal atmosphere with a fantastic view of the Pacific Ocean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F McLintocks Saloon & Dining also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to F McLintocks Saloon & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing