We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Italian food at great prices!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of F McLintocks Saloon & Dining

F McLintocks Saloon & Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
F McLintocks Saloon & Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shell Beach Road
Transit: Bus stop in front of restaurant.
Description: F. McLintocks Saloon & Dining House offers the best authentic ranch style cooking and atmosphere teamed up with high spirited service and genuine western hospitality.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Superb Italian food at great prices!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Passed this place loads of times , but a year ago ate in their sister restaurant in San Louis obispo , so this trip had to try giuseppes . Upon entering you find a lovely restaurant with white tablecloths and great art on the walls etc, we were greeted and seated in a friendly manner and our server ran thru the specials etc .
I had a lunch special starting with one of the house salads (beets and goats cheese) then a Kobe burger with homemade chips all of which we fantastic, my wife had the seafood pasta along with a couple of glasses of giuseppes own wine all of which she hummed her way thru( always a good sign) . So in short food great service fantastic and now one place we will not pass again!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    118
    52
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calif
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lots of food but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Suggest you split a plate. There is too much for one person and most selections run $28-35. That said if you split it, it's a good value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tcombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you sit in the bar you can order a smaller meal anytime without the wait. Still definately enough food, very good

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmpoc
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“They ruined TWO perfectly good ribeyes - sincerely disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The GOOD:
Onion rings!. What a great idea that I wish more restaurants would do. They serve fresh/hot onion rings when you sit down instead of bread and butter! AWESOME, but that's where it ended for us.

The BAD:
The potatoes that are served with every meal are flavored with way too much tarragon or whatever that herb is. It is not a good flavor and just adds starch to the meal. Beans are ok, but again, it's just filler and nothing special. I ordered the special, bone in rib eye medium rare (why would this be special at a steakhouse anyway?). I received a medium to well-done rib eye. I normally would just eat it but because it had some kind of sticky indistinguishable sauce on it, I sent it back hoping for a "SAVE" to the otherwise horrible meal. Nothing doing - got a similar steak and took one bite, left the rest for the staff to throw away. What is that sticky substance they put on the steak? its like corn syrup? WTH!!

Décor is old, musty and in need of repairs. I understand they are going for the old cattleman look with the taxidormy, but you can do it without looking 70’s dated. Service was good and that’s about the only thing I did enjoy.

Save you money cowgirls and cowboys – go somewhere else for a steak than this place. It's a step above Sizzler for the price of a Jockos.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Killer fillet mignon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I recently visited F McClintock's for the first time .it was for a wedding rehearsal dinner for a party of 50 plus. I thought that the food and drinks were excellent. And the service was pretty darn good as well . My wife had salmon and I had filet mignon both were perfectly cooked and the beef was high quality. The servers were very talented at pouring water into our cups from 3 feet away . I recommend McClintock's for large parties and wedding groups..

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trippinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F McLintocks Saloon & Dining also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to F McLintocks Saloon & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing