We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Its all about location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pismo Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
california
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Its all about location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Location is key here if you want the beach/pier atmosphere and plenty of restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance. Nice outdoor courtyard. Wifi only in designated area of property outside of lobby area. Walls are thin. Bring earplugs. Room is very sunny in the morning. Lots of stairs or you can opt for the old fashioned elevator---the kind with the gate that you have to close. Ask Robin about restaurants around the area...she's a real foodie and lots of fun. Plenty of hotel parking. We will definitely return to this historic property with smiles on our faces.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the top 4th floor so you don't get the footsteps above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaCaridee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    49
    13
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
83
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were happy with this find. Everyone was friendly, and the hotel was clean & tidy. Its location couldn't be better; it is within walking distance to the water and restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was more than enough to start the day. It's a great spot for Pismo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ldryer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Excellent service, perfect location in downtown Pismo beach, everything is in walking distance especially the beach which is the main reason for the booking. The room was clean, comfortable and quaint. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donovan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to your next visit. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was a GREAT experience. The place was very nice, and comfortable too. It is rare to check in somewhere and instantly feel relaxed and at home. The location was great, as there were many placed to walk to. I should also comment that the staff was incredibly friendly. There was a nice little continental breakfast in the lobby where you can sit and chat with a morning coffee and bagel. I can't emphasize how great this experience was!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We do have a great staff and I am happy that you feel at home here. Next time you visit, please check out Cafe Mon Ami just across from the hotel lobby, as they have excellent breakfast and desert crepes plus all of you favorite coffees, lattes and cappuccinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for one stormy night in February 2014.

I was checked in by a super nice guy to the two bedroom "Captain's Suite".

While a bit oddly laid out, with one bedroom accessed through a Jack-and-Jill bathroom, the beds were comfortable and the room clean. Updates include a newer mini fridge and flat screen TV's. Nice view too.

Parking was easy despite the central location thanks to a generous parking lot in back.

I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Also, we asked about motorcycle parking (for a future Oceano Dunes) and it appeared to be a routine request.

Looking forward to returning in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the recently remodeled 'Captain's Suite.' We actually moved the front door and 'captured' a substantial amount of hallway and foyer to make this suite larger for some of the large family groups that stay here. It also has an adjoining door to the room next door, making the combination 3-bedrooms, 2 baths plus kitchen.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is in almost on the actual beach. It's very close to the 101 freeway. Awesome view on the ocean.
I stayed with friends in a little annex (unit #C) that was in a fact a little apartment, with a kitchen and separate rooms. Very clean, comfortable.
Service was good. The lobby is gorgeous.
We had a great rate, probably because it's the low season.

For once I don't have anything to say, that means a lot!

Room Tip: Ask for unit #C, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you, Bernard. The upper deck C Suite is our flagship unit with 3 bedrooms, 2 baths full kitchen and living room plus the private deck. With the ADA compliant A and B suites down below it makes a great place for a family reunion or small corporate getaway. The private fenced in 'compound' area has a built in bbq and outdoor sink for the suites. And, of course this place is just a short walk from Harry's next door.

Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in the 3 bedroom "apartment" that is separate from the hotel. The room was HUGE, with a fridge, tv's in every room and even a washer dryer. Everything was very clean, bed was comfortable, and while the styling made have been a little dated, it was still very nice. The free continental breakfast was a nice bonus too. My only complaint is that the free wi-fi doesn't reach all the way back to those apartments, but that really isn't much of a deal breaker. Also, the weather was rainy, so we didn't have a chance to really use the bbq or the deck to enjoy the great view of the beach and the pier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for the review Andy. We enjoy reading about your good experience and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly strive to improve and upgrade the customer experience here at the Pismo Beach Hotel.

Come back and see us again when the weather is better and until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pismo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Beach Hotel

Property: Pismo Beach Hotel
Address: 230 Pomeroy Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2642
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pismo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing