We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great coastal stopover for Highway 1 drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Lighthouse Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great coastal stopover for Highway 1 drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked a family suite at the last minute for a stopover during the drive from San Francisco to LA, as Pismo Beach was the perfect distance for that day's travel. For less than $200 per night we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the family suite, two full bedrooms, one with two queen beds, as well as two separate bathrooms. We also had a balcony with an ocean view. The bathrooms have the vanity outside the actual bathroom which is a great design to allow use of the basin for teeth, hair, makeup etc whilst the bathroom is occupied. Beds were very comfortable and good sound proofing in the room meant we didn't hear any highway noise. Our kids enjoyed the outdoor chess set and the pool, spa which was just warm enough for a late afternoon swim. The breakfast was OK, in a small cafeteria style eating room with cereal and bagels and waffle machine available, tea and coffee, juice also available. We were given a recommendation for dinner at the nearby Ventura Grill which was superb, and a short walk. Highly recommended and would be lovely in warmer weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandgroper12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    360
    79
    33
    14
See reviews for
737
251
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is our favorite place to "veg" out. We always get the ocean front king suite and could sit on the patio for hours , listening to the surf...never slept better in our lives.. very relaxing. The breakfasts are very good and the staff very helpful, While there, try Guiseppe's for some great Italian food.

Room Tip: on the lower rooms, you can hear the people walking or children running above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PianoFiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We're honored to be your "veg spot" ! It sounds like you have the right idea. Those waves against the coastline are very tranquil and relaxing. We'll have a cookie waiting for you the lobby on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 as stopover on our way up to the San Francisco Bay area. It has a great location off Hwy 101. We are a family of 5, 2 parents and 3 "kids" aged 18, 20 and 21. The family suite was roomy, perfect and very clean. It was great having 2 bathrooms. We had a partial ocean view which was very nice. The breakfast in the morning was fine to start the day. We wished we could have stayed longer. It will definitely be a place we stay again. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveler621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I'm so thrilled that you found us as well. It sounds like our spacious family suites fit the bill perfectly for you and your family. We'd love to have you stay longer on your next visit and be sure to check out our mid week specials for multiple night stays! Please don't hesitate to contact me for assistance with any future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in May 2012 as part of a road-trip from San Francisco down to Pismo then across to Death Valley. Lovely location at the top of a cliff over Pismo Beach. We checked in and went to check out our room and were surprised to find there were two rooms and two bathrooms in one! I was expecting two beds in one room. Would be wonderful value if 4 people are travelling. Cute little breakfast room (included) with great options.

Pismo is a pretty quiet place, we took a walk down the beach to the pier and saw a young couple on the beach who had just got married as well as some wild bird. Definitely worth heading down the beach and get some clam chowder...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WCV85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for including us in your California road trip. You sure picked a good time to come through the coast and head out to Death Valley. I appreciate you sharing your experience of your stay with us and we hope that you recommend us to any friends doing a similar trip. I also hope we can see you again on your next visit to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapphire, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having traveled to many different places in the US and the world and this is a very nice hotel. It is clean, lovely view (must try and do beach front view), well appointed with nicely decorated rooms. Nice walk to Pismo Village but also has beach access. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Didn't have time to take advantage of their continental breakfast, which is included with the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel with us. It sounds like you are a world traveler so your affirmation is very appreciated. I agree, the ocean front suites are the way to go! Next time you're out this way be sure to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the third time we stayed at Pismo Lighthouse Suites. It never disappoints. Our families enjoyed the courtyard games. The rooms were spotless! The decor and room layout were well thought out. The front desk has copies of restaurants open in the holidays, very appreciated by my families and other families checking in. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinmom1LosAltos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for spending the holidays with us! I'm glad that the family enjoyed their stay and that we could assist with the holiday restaurant guide. We'll be ready to welcome everybody once again for your fourth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The location, rooms, service and price are all fine. The issues we had were the noise from the guest above us and parking lot noise. We called to inform the front desk and they were very kind but not really much can be done just due to construction. Small things didn't work: no remote batteries (which inn replaced), then remote died altogether, soda machine didn't take dollar bills and key cards didn't work to pool( they sent maintenance person to rectify). Quite a charming place but three stars at best for us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
2.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pismo Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Lighthouse Suites

Property: Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Address: 2411 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pismo Lighthouse Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this all-suite, oceanfront family hotel in Pismo Beach featuring spacious two-room/two-bath suites with private balconies or patios. Enjoy the family play deck with ping-pong, badminton, multiple putting greens and life-size chess and checkers board. Guests also enjoy a daily deluxe continental breakfast, guest laundry facilities, fitness center, spa services, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Pismo Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pismo Lighthouse Hotel Pismo Beach
Pismo Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing