We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Close to the beach, and far from hygiene standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Garden Motel
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close to the beach, and far from hygiene standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here last March with a friend who was incredibly last-minute with regards to his booking. I got a bad vibe from the moment I walked into the reception area, and insisted we see the room, but the lady on reception insisted on payment up front and my friend being the positive type was happy to shell out. Even this place made his stiff upper lip curl a little in disgust. "This was forty dollars," I said. "Right?" "No," he informed me, "it's closer to one hundred." Needless to say, I had a conniption fit.

Positives? It's close to the beach, and I didn't contract any communicable diseases.

Negatives? Pretty much everything else, and I am surprised I didn't contract any communicable diseases. Flimsy locks when your room backs onto a main road, paper-thin sheets, a trickle of a shower, muddy floors, and a heating system that makes the whole room smell like gas. A previous reviewer said that the new manager "Raj" and his wife are working on improving this motel. From my experience? They have an awfully, awfully long way to go and I'm never letting said friend book accommodation for me again.If Raj and his partner are trying to put some money into this sinking ship, best of luck to them, but I won't be staying here again in a hurry.

On the bright side, it was so foul it caused me to do a lot of exploring of the surrounding area!

Room Tip: Don't stay here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    8
    11
    36
See reviews for
17
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This motel has left me speechless. I actually like motels. I think they can be cute & quirky. This...is neither.

I want to be fair, so first let's discuss the positives. It's pretty cheap - we paid around $54. It's actually cheaper to book over the phone than on http://booking.com which is how we found the place. From the outside, it looks fairly nice. There is a new paint job & it's fairly maintained. The lady was very nice & I realized right away the family probably lived on the property (we saw the kids riding bikes on the property; cute). The location is great - we brought our bikes & were able to get to wine bars, restaurants & the beach in under 5 min. Way under.

Ok...now where do I begin with the negatives? Gah. I feel bad cause the lady has been so nice, but the place is such a dive. I think it would be fine if my fiancé & I were back in our college days,not giving a fudge, but we're not. What gives me the willies about the place is that I don't know if this room was dingy or dirty. Everything was old, faded & nothing matched. Well no I mean the draperies & blanket were weird colors but. The furniture did match - it looked like something inspired from Blanche Devourex's room from Goden Girls. That is not a compliment. The carpet, the blanket, & the sink all have weird mysterious stains on them. Maybe the place really is clean, but because of the grody (this motel is deserving of bringing the word back) stains, it makes me think twice about the cleanliness in general. The walls are paper thin & our neighbors looked like they've seen much more sober, cleaner days...nothing better than listening to crackies lull you to sleep with their conversations all thorough the night! also, the room stunk like cigarette smoke badly. I would have requested a room change, but then I noticed as I went down the hall is that the premises smelled like cigarette smoke. Yuck. Our bikes barely fit in the room, so don't even think about attempting to move around the room if you feel bloated. You won't fit through :) not all the light fixtures work. Theres no closet & the bar set aside for the closet is above the 1972 microwave/1988 fridge (but they work!).

Other things you should know: bring your own toiletries. Everything. Bring your own pillow, blankets, blow dryer (please see my pic of the hotel's blowdryer!). It's cheap, but you're getting what you paid for. I am giving them one extra star only cause they are nice but other than that, bates hotel all the way!

Room Tip: bring your own toiletries, towels & blankets if you MUST stay here. I saw no bed bugs, but stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gordita_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pismo Beach hotels

Temple City, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This room cost us $210.00. My husband, daughter, husband, and granddaughter stayed here one night. I have given better blankets to the good will. These blankets should be thrown in garbage. The sheets were paper thin. The mattress and box spring were unbelievable sitting on 2x4s. The shower did not work. We could not bathe. He would not give half our money back. I am reporting him to health department and Better Business bureau. Trust me do not stay here. Wish I would og=f read reviews first.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

oh my goodness, ive been to a lot of hotels, this one......omg . ok i wanted a jacuzzi tub.not a scary as hell tub, the walls are held together with tape! the door didnt bolt to lock, the microwave has a square dish in it, so the carosel doesnt work, they unplugged it. fridge worked great. they have drapes over the bed but no window.( behind bed.) they really need to hope the city doesnt inspect them and its actually a shame, when i walked in the room, it feels very welcoming ( probably begging me for help) and the people seem nice, although the guy that i first saw and got key from had his wife come tell me 'you have to cancel with XXX' like they have done that a few times. but i told them im cancer survivor and im alergic to bugs, i didnt push a refund. i stayed because the room feels almost safe. sounds crazy...but its really too bad these people cant get a loan and fix up this place, it was probably quite the place to be in its heyday.
oh, as im finishing this up, the ELEPHANTS IN THE ROOM ABOVE ME sound like they are about to come through my celing!!! it literally rattles the chair im sitting in

Room Tip: a good room? make sure its on the first floor so if the floor caves in, you wont fall far. no pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mustanglovrsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

me and my husband went last year for valentines day and we stayed here it wasnt that bad but when we came this year with our whole family it was terrible. we tired going to other motels but everything was booked so we came here. the room was dirty, it smelled really bad. when i went to take a shower there was dirt and hair all over it was gross and to top it of there was mold in the shower. i didnt even want to sleep there when we layed down to go to bed the sheets stunk but we just went bed..in the morning my 2 year old son woke up and had bumps all over like he was bitten my husband didnt make it a big deal when went and hung out at the beach all day and came back to the motel at night.we went to bed and in the morning my son and now husband had bumps everywhere and they were itching really bad when i came back home i my son to the doctor because it looked bad and he had got SCABIES!!! YUCK!!! NEVER EVER WILL I STAY THERE AGAIN..ILL RATHER SLEEP IN MY CAR ..dont ever stay here trust me you'll regret it i sure did

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I travel a lot for work and always look for the closest motel to my current project. Im traveling alone and only require one bed, therefore I was given room #16 (single bed). I wasn't expecting a Hilton suite or a flat screen TV, but still got a decent room with cable TV, free WIFI, fridge/microwave, fan, and a very open room with plenty of windows and a nice breeze. What I like most is the close proximity to Promeroy street. I can walk to the beach and all the resturants/bars, shops, and pier. The owner and his wife are very nice and even gave me a buisness card with his cell number to call anytime for any reason. Honestly, if your just looking for a place to sleep, you cant go wrong with this place. If you want to be pampered and have room service, gym, and someone kissing your butt all day, then go to the Seacrest or a major hotel and spend 200 a night. I'am happy here and wil be here for the next 6 weeks.

Room Tip: If your traveling alone, ask for room 16. Its on the 2nd floor at the very end. its quiet and only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank electricTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our room was filthy, reeked of smoke, and everything seemed to be covered in mildew. Then the manager kept harassing us to leave earlier than checkout time. Do not stay here. It may be cheap, but it's not worth it. It hasn't been fixed up, and it's just a total dump.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pismo Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#15 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
#22 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Motel

Property: Sea Garden Motel
Address: 340 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2538
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sea Garden Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Garden Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing