We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I turned off the highway to get something to drink and look what I found!”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2011

It was amazing to find such a nice place to stay. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful, and I got a great rate too. My large room was right on the ocean front. It had a comfortable roomy patio with 2 chairs and side table. It also had a small fridge/coffee pot/very large tv and sitting area in the room. There was an elevator for access to the upstairs rooms., and a hot and cold continental breakfast. I will remember my stay for years to come and I am glad I got a chance to stay here. The next time I come I will be able to stay longer. I give this Inn 5 stars plus..........

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveryRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for Kon Tiki Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 752 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

It isn't too often that you run into a place like the Kon Tiki. Being a critical sort of person, I often tend to focus on what wasn't right rather than what was. In the case of the Kon Tiki, we simply didn't find a single thing to complain about. On the positive side, there are many comments to make:
1. The view is simply spectacular. Every room has a great balcony view, looking off to the ocean, about a hundred metres away, over a cliff. Choose the third floor if you can.
2. Despite the proximity of the highway, it's quiet in the rooms. This is a nice combination of the gentle noise of the surf below and the fact that the motel is set back a bit more than most of the others in the neighbourhood.
3. Everything is modestly comfortable in the room. Nice beds, nice room size, everyhthing works.
4. The staff are professional and accomodating.
5. The breakfast is topnotch. You also have admittance to a nearby health club.
6. The price is okay. We got a three-day, mid-week deal for about $93 a day.
7. Pismo Beach and the environs are among the nicest anywhere. It would be a lovely place to live.
Go there. Stay there. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riderfan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My wife and I have been staying at the Kon Tiki since the day it opened, and have never had a bad experience! The staff is great, the view from the rooms is excellent, and the rooms are spotless. They keep the 3 rooms we prefer in thier files and all we do is call and ask if our room is available and book it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlluvpismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and I just finished a wonderful four night stay at the Kon Tiki Inn in Pismo Beach, CA. at the end of January. We have stayed at hundreds of places and we both agreed that the Kon Tiki is one of the cleanest, friendliest and nicest places we have ever stay at. Not only did the cleaning crew sweep the deck every day, but one young man even cleaned the spaces between balcony railings! Each room had a magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean with breathtaking sunsets each day. The double hot tubs made an evening adventure under the stars that much better. We are already making plans to revisit in August. The free breakfast was nice, and again, extremely clean and staffed with very friendly folks. The daily passes to the adjoining workout center were a plus.
Mike, Alexandria, VA

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moarng06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Made reservations and they they called the next day to cancel on me without offering a different room. Since I was trying to save rooms with more beds for others. They should have offered me the room with more beds and then canceled on someone with a later reservations.

I would not recommend this hotel if they don't know how to do their reservations correctly and do first come first service.

Stayed: January 2011
4  Thank Unhappy32904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

One of the few oceanfront hotels with nothing but awesome ocean and sunset views. The private balcony makes me a repeat customer. The room has recliners, outdoor table and chairs on the balcony, heated pool and spas. The sound of the surf through the wall of windows lulls you to sleep. Plus free wi-fi and large TV if you tire of the ocean view. The private stairway to the beach means you can park here and walk to town, or visit the pier. The price is reasonable for all the amenities-less than $140.

Stayed: December 2010
1  Thank DocVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We stayed 4 nights for my b-day and found perfectly cleaned & comfortable rooms, a front desk staff that was friendly and helpful, perfectly manicured grounds and pool/spas, and expansive breakfast offerings (they call it continental but it is vast). We are already planning a return this month!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bzy_Mom_of_2Boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,052 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing