We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We (husband, teenage son, myself) stayed here for three nights at the end of Aug., arriving after dark. We went to their restaurant (next door), Steamers, for dinner, and enjoyed the good food, including their clam chowder, there. The next morning, when I woke up, I immediately went to the balcony, and was entranced at the lovely view. Every room looks out over the beach and the Pacific and has a balcony or patio. Even though it was a bit foggy, you CANNOT beat the views! And looking around, I saw several other people taking in the view of the Pacific. Most mornings, it will be foggy, then usually clear up. And what is also so wonderful is the sunset AND the moon views! The heated pool at the inn is also great--it stays open till 10 at night, and is warm enough. The proprietor told me the pool stays open year-round. The two hot tubs, in the pool area, are also nice. The room was spacious, even with a double and a queen bed. The balconies all have a little table and two chairs. The additional outside (of the bathroom) sink and mini-fridge are also nice touches. This inn is about an hour south of San Simeon (Hearst Castle--a must-see), and also not far from San Luis Obispo and Solvang. We will definitely come back to Kon-Tiki, maybe catching the monarch butterflies this time. All in all, a truly lovely experience.

  • Liked — The private balcony with the views
  • Disliked — The continental breakfast--not bad, just OK.
  • Tips/Secrets — You get a slightly better view from the upper floors.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank keut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    201
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
202
345
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2006

We had an outstanding view from our third floor room- palm trees, sandy beach, ocean- you might think you were in Hawaii! The hotel was very quiet and exceptionally clean. Being a non-smoking property was a plus for us. It is nice to be able to breathe the fresh ocean air without smelling cigarette smoke. The room decor was simple, functional, and restful. The funky Polynesian theme in the lobby was great. Front desk personnel were very kind and helpful. Pride of ownership was evident at this hotel. We are looking forward to returning as soon as possible!

  • Liked — ocean view, quiet, and cleanliness
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank japansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2006

We took the advice of trip advisor and were not disappointed.

Kon Tiki has a beautiful location, perched on a clifftop overlooking the Pacific, and has been designed to give every room a sea view.

Our room was spacious and clean with a large balcony and breakfast was adequate. We drove to a nearby shopping centre for our evening meal and were well pleased with a Coco's Bakery.

We had not expected the wildlife experiences of watching an owl, at twilight, from our balcony and were visited later that evening by a small bird, which took us an hour to evict. We were fully entertained by our visitor as it hung upside down from the ceiling, like a bat, displacing small pieces of polystyrene each time I encouraged it to leave. The housekeeper must have been puzzled by the snow on the room floor!

All in all, this is a fine place to stay and we would be happy to spend longer to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi and beach.

  • Liked — The birdlife.
  • Disliked — No problems.
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep the curtain closed.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro_snr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We booked this property based on the reviews here. when we called they offered a great rate of $104, when we got there, check in was fast and they had already upgraded us the 4th floor with a fire palce. This place has amazing views of the beach and walking distance to the resturants. On check in the staff were extremely helpful and advised on some great places to eat. Definitly worth the price and the location. I agree this is a little gem on the coast after an amazing drive from SF down the Big Sur.

If you are aalso not sure about visiting Hearst castle like I was, it is really worth seeing - the opulance is obscence!

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We found Kon Tiki from the reviews on TripAdvisor and were somewhat hesitant because the room prices were half of the competitors and it was rated higher....and we were delighted. The location is perfect, the standard rooms are quite large, immaculately clean, and soundproof and all have ocean views. We were on the first floor with a patio instead of a balcony and could walk out onto the grounds and to the beach below. I photograph sunsets and these were breath-taking, with nothing to block the view. We ate at the restaurant next door, Steamers (well recommended) for dinner, and instead of the traditional continental breakfast, we went 1/2 block off the beach to J&Js for a fabulous, reasonably priced breakfast of omelets and anything else you could ask for. If you can get a reservation here, take it. If you can't keep trying up to the last minute, its worth it.

Helpful?
5 Thank susanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Our third visit the 7th thru 9th, certainly not our last. Location on the bluff above the long sweep of Pismo Beach where the sand above high tide is like white talc. Just off shore dolphin feeding frenzy, clearly visible from our balcony, on Sunday was spectacular.
Rooms are more than adequate and well maintained, the included continental breakfast is fine for an early jump start to the day, and the staff is good natured and helpful. Oh, and the heart of the San Luis Obispo/Edna Valley wine country is only six miles away. A picnic at Edna Valley Vineyard or the Baileyana Tasting room is pretty much a must do.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Adjusting the shower head
  • Tips/Secrets — Request 2nd or 3rd floor
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Phiwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We stayed at Kon Tiki for three days, wish it could of been more!All rooms at the Inn have balconies giving you a front row seat of the ocean views and cool breezes. Our room was very nicely decorated, clean and very very quiet! It was very enjoyable to take morning and evening walks along the beach (which was just steps from the Inn) . The sunset's off of our balcony were postcard perfect! Always looked forward relaxing in the hot tub ,each evening,overlooking the ocean under the stars in the moonlight. Kon Tiki Inn is "the best" place to stay in Pismo!

  • Liked — Too many to describe
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Make reservations early!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sunblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,982 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,995 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing