We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a beautiful ocean view”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2006

We've been staying here for years and meet family as a half way point between Southern & Northern California. Every room has a fantastic ocean view and balcony (except for 1st floor). The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are basic and clean. Roooms have a small refrig and tvs (no vcr or dvd). There is Steamers Restaurant and a complimentary gym next door. Guisippe's Italian Restaurant on Price Street is fabulous (we often eat there several times on our trips, although expect a wait as they don't take reservations). Take a walk down the steps to the beach towards the pier and into town. Leave the sliding glass door open with screen closed if you like falling asleep to the sound of the waves.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank irridescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 758 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2006

My husband, kids and I stay here whenever we go to visit my daughter who attends Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. What a great find this place is for us.

Every room has a view of the ocean. As you face the hotel the left side is a little better than the right, if you prefer not to have the afternoon sun beating down into your room. But really in the winter, who minds a little more sun.

When we have stayed in the summer, we have brought my kids surfboards too and they enjoy running down to the beach and surfing. I, on the other hand really love the gym that Kontiki guests get to use. It's just across the parking lot. I even took a body building class that was great. They offer lots of great classes but you do have to sign up a few minutes prior.

A complimentary breakfast is nice but simple. Mostly toast your own bagels and sweet rolls as well as fruit and ample amounts of coffee and a variety of teas. I would love to see some hard boiled eggs added for a bit more protein, but I can't complain.

Nicely maintained grounds and you can't beat this view for the price. I simply love staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank SDParadiseJewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2006

Stayed the weekend before Valentine's Day, Feb, 11-13. Arrived late, so we could not really tell what kind of view we would have in the dark. When we woke up the next day--it was amazing, right on the water. There is a stairway that leads down to the beach.

The rooms are pretty basic, but certainly adequate. A King-sized bed, bathroom, mini-fridge, microwave...what more do you really need? The price is right, location perfect. We rode some ATVs at Oceano Beach and then came back to relax at our room. It is perect to walk into town, have lunch or dinner and not have to worry about parking.

We are definitely returning and made reserations as we checked out.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank babydds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2006

What a wonderful, relaxing vacation spot. Our family (myself, my wife, and our 3-year old son) stayed at the Kon Tiki Inn this past summer when we needed a quick break from a Los Angeles heat wave. We'd never stayed in Pismo Beach before, and after reading many negative reviews of other area hotels, I was amazed at the unformly glowing reviews of the Kon Tiki here on Tripadvisor. Well, the reviews were right -- the rooms were very clean and quite spacious, plus every one has panoramic ocean/beach views. Great pool and 2 jacuzzis overlooking the beach, too. It's a nice walk (or a very short drive) to the "touristy" heart of Pismo, full of fun and kitschy things to do -- but the Kon Tiki property itself feels like its own secluded oasis, so you get the best of both worlds. As wonderful as the Kon Tiki is, it's not a "full-service hotel" so don't expect amenities like Room Service, but that's not what we were looking for so it wasn't a negative for us (you do get complementary access to the workout gym next door). We met a number of other guests during out 4 day stay, and learned that many of them were "regulars" who stay there several times a year. I can certainly understand why.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Brian-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2005

The Kon Tiki lived up to its reviews - and more. We accounted ourselves lucky to get a room over the Xmas period especially. Apart from the room being all that we wanted in terms of furnishings and linens etc., the views from the room (and I suspect from all rooms) were spectacular. The sunsets and dawn skies, the skyline both north and south. Add to all this this sound of the surf - what more could one ask. The hotel was all that you could expect, and more, at the price. Everything worked. Frills there weren't but then we weren't paying for them either. The grounds were immiculately kept and there was a gym and indoor pool just across from the car parking area. The external pool with two spas graced the gounds between the hotel and beach. A memorable stay.

12  Thank Prop64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

We travelled around California for just over two weeks in October and booked all our accomodation based on reviews on Tripadvisor. We were happy with everywhere we booked but overall the Kon Tiki Inn was our favourite. We only stayed for one night and we really wished we had booked for longer.

We arrived in the middle of a massive storm, having travelled along the coast through Big Sur. The location of the Kon Tiki is excellent: just off the main road and easy to find even in torrential rain, with bags of parking too. Check in was friendly and efficient but it was once we got to our room that we realised what a find we had made. the room was enormous with huge bed, reclining sofa, and best of all, a large balcony with a view straight onto the large beach and the pacific.

We ate dinner in the excellent "Steamers of Pismo" next door, which also had a bar as well. The hotel also has many excellent amenities including a laundrette and free use of a health club next door. Complimentary buffet continental breakfast was a nice touch as was the coffee maker in the room.

The following morning dawned with a misty start and we enjoyed a magical swim in the heated pool, folllowed by a sit in the (very) hot tub overlooking the pacific. following a walk on the beach we had to tear ourselves away to drive on to Los Angeles.

I really can't fault this place and the price is incredible. Unreservedly recommended!

19  Thank emmadaisysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2005

Great value. Great view and location. Good rooms; clean. Nice pool & jacuzzi. Continental breakfast at restaurant next door. Stayed one night, Nov. 18, 2005. Rate was $110, which wasn't bad for ocean view on a Friday night. This is like a deluxe "motel" with a knock-out view, with steps down to beach. I was a little concerned that I might hear freeway noise or noise from the room next door, but soundproofing seemed good. And in the middle of the night, I decided to open the sliding door a little bit to get some air. The sound of the waves lulled me right back to sleep! All rooms have ocean views. I would definitely stay there again.

8  Thank LaurelSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,061 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing