We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt a world away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We felt a world away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2006

Stayed the weekend before Valentine's Day, Feb, 11-13. Arrived late, so we could not really tell what kind of view we would have in the dark. When we woke up the next day--it was amazing, right on the water. There is a stairway that leads down to the beach.

The rooms are pretty basic, but certainly adequate. A King-sized bed, bathroom, mini-fridge, microwave...what more do you really need? The price is right, location perfect. We rode some ATVs at Oceano Beach and then came back to relax at our room. It is perect to walk into town, have lunch or dinner and not have to worry about parking.

We are definitely returning and made reserations as we checked out.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank babydds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    195
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
197
336
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2006

What a wonderful, relaxing vacation spot. Our family (myself, my wife, and our 3-year old son) stayed at the Kon Tiki Inn this past summer when we needed a quick break from a Los Angeles heat wave. We'd never stayed in Pismo Beach before, and after reading many negative reviews of other area hotels, I was amazed at the unformly glowing reviews of the Kon Tiki here on Tripadvisor. Well, the reviews were right -- the rooms were very clean and quite spacious, plus every one has panoramic ocean/beach views. Great pool and 2 jacuzzis overlooking the beach, too. It's a nice walk (or a very short drive) to the "touristy" heart of Pismo, full of fun and kitschy things to do -- but the Kon Tiki property itself feels like its own secluded oasis, so you get the best of both worlds. As wonderful as the Kon Tiki is, it's not a "full-service hotel" so don't expect amenities like Room Service, but that's not what we were looking for so it wasn't a negative for us (you do get complementary access to the workout gym next door). We met a number of other guests during out 4 day stay, and learned that many of them were "regulars" who stay there several times a year. I can certainly understand why.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Brian-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2005

The Kon Tiki lived up to its reviews - and more. We accounted ourselves lucky to get a room over the Xmas period especially. Apart from the room being all that we wanted in terms of furnishings and linens etc., the views from the room (and I suspect from all rooms) were spectacular. The sunsets and dawn skies, the skyline both north and south. Add to all this this sound of the surf - what more could one ask. The hotel was all that you could expect, and more, at the price. Everything worked. Frills there weren't but then we weren't paying for them either. The grounds were immiculately kept and there was a gym and indoor pool just across from the car parking area. The external pool with two spas graced the gounds between the hotel and beach. A memorable stay.

Helpful?
12 Thank Prop64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2005

We travelled around California for just over two weeks in October and booked all our accomodation based on reviews on Tripadvisor. We were happy with everywhere we booked but overall the Kon Tiki Inn was our favourite. We only stayed for one night and we really wished we had booked for longer.

We arrived in the middle of a massive storm, having travelled along the coast through Big Sur. The location of the Kon Tiki is excellent: just off the main road and easy to find even in torrential rain, with bags of parking too. Check in was friendly and efficient but it was once we got to our room that we realised what a find we had made. the room was enormous with huge bed, reclining sofa, and best of all, a large balcony with a view straight onto the large beach and the pacific.

We ate dinner in the excellent "Steamers of Pismo" next door, which also had a bar as well. The hotel also has many excellent amenities including a laundrette and free use of a health club next door. Complimentary buffet continental breakfast was a nice touch as was the coffee maker in the room.

The following morning dawned with a misty start and we enjoyed a magical swim in the heated pool, folllowed by a sit in the (very) hot tub overlooking the pacific. following a walk on the beach we had to tear ourselves away to drive on to Los Angeles.

I really can't fault this place and the price is incredible. Unreservedly recommended!

Helpful?
19 Thank emmadaisysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2005

Great value. Great view and location. Good rooms; clean. Nice pool & jacuzzi. Continental breakfast at restaurant next door. Stayed one night, Nov. 18, 2005. Rate was $110, which wasn't bad for ocean view on a Friday night. This is like a deluxe "motel" with a knock-out view, with steps down to beach. I was a little concerned that I might hear freeway noise or noise from the room next door, but soundproofing seemed good. And in the middle of the night, I decided to open the sliding door a little bit to get some air. The sound of the waves lulled me right back to sleep! All rooms have ocean views. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
8 Thank LaurelSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnoldswick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2005

As per the previous reviews. This hotel is very good value for money ($101 per night). Large beds, superb views, nice staff. I wish i was still there. !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank littleiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ash Green, Kent, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2005

Stayed two nights en route from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Read about Kon Tiki on Trip Adviser and booked on strength of reviews and pictures. Very glad we did, great room on third floor with marvellous views towards Pismo and the Pacific. Intelligent, articulate and friendly staff. Will definately return and stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tim and Cheryl McGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing