We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed March 17, 2009

The front staff was OK, not really warm & fuzzy, but, the rooms are so great, it didn't matter about the staff at reception. The views from the balcony are absolutely wonderful. The sound of the surf is marvelous. The attached restaurant, Steamers, was perfectly adequate but the continental breakfast was nothing to write home about, however, it was only a short walk to the pier and many other restaurants. My husband woke up the other morning thinking 'let's go to Pismo this weekend' - now that we live in England, it's not an improptu destination, otherwise, we'd be regulars!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliecotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    201
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
202
345
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

The host of positive comments and awards make it clear that this is a great location, and one you should not hestitate to stay at (providing you're comfortable waking up to a wall of pastels and chintz). All I have to add is that the free access to the health club is a real benefit if you wish for a bit of exercise during your vacation. It's very well equipped with a lap pool and regular gymnasium plus you can attend the classes for no extra charge. Fun was had at the spin class, also a good way to get a few tips on places to eat and things to do, an enjoyable encounter with the locals.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank getdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We loved our stay at the Kon Tiki Inn. We booked a price much lower than the other highly rated places in Pismo Beach and couldn't have been happier with our room and view! Every employee that we encountered was nothing but friendly, polite, and helpful! The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfy! We were able to witness a very beautiful, romantic sunset from our balcony. We would highly recommend the Kon Tiki Inn to anyone!

  • Liked — the view,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BThiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We enjoyed our overnight stay at the Kon Tiki Inn in Pismo Beach. We loved our room with the balcony overlooking the ocean, infact every room has a beautiful ocean view. Our room had 2 KS beds in it, so we put our 6 year old to bed early and sat on the balcony enjoying some wine until she was asleep. The bathroom was clean and the room decor was modern. The heated pool and 2 hot tubs were a big bonus for us & our little girl. We meet some interesting people in the hot tub and our little girl played with other children around the pool area.. We climbed down the steps to the beach. It is a lovely beach even in the winter time, dramatic cliffs. We walked along the beach to the peir, unfortunately there is not much around the peir area. We were a bit disappointed with the selection of restaurants in Pismo beach but very happy with our hotel choice. The hotel breakfast was adequate but not fancy. We paid $110 per night.

  • Liked — The room, the pool and hot tubs, the beach.
  • Disliked — No restaurants nearby
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivnoaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

So here's the deal with the KonTiki. You can't beat the location. Clifftop above the beach, you walk down several stairs to get to beach. Pool overlooks beach. OK BUT, the place could use some revamping. There is lots of updating needed. Some stuff has been done, but there's ALOT to go. The staff----um, there's a couple of nice people but the rest make you feel like you owe your stay to them and don't treat you with the respect that you feel like you need when you are enjoying a vacation. An occassional smile would be nice. Plan on eating breakfast elsewhere if you are hungry---bagels and juice/coffee don't cut it for most.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank slolvr85inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

After staying for a night at the Kon Tiki Inn in 2006, we relived the experience in 2008

You just cannot fault this hotel for views, cleanliness and above all value for money

Had no problems with staff - very courteous and helpful - it was misty during our stay (disappointment) but the drop off to sleep with the sound of the crashing ocean outside your window is unforgettable

The next time we hope to stay for longer ... the Kon Tiki Inn cannot be beaten

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RJtraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMARTHENSHIRE UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Picked this hotel from TA reports. Great choice – lived up to expectations and more. Would stay there again certainly. Booked a King room had a King & Queen bed in the room we were given. Balcony overlooking the sea. Great sun sets when we were there. Nice heated pool big enough to swim & two Hot Tubs. Also you can use free the leisure centre across the parking lot for free – just get a pass. There is a bigger pool there but it is for swimming only not leisure and all the other types of things like gym etc. Easy to get to off the interstate. Rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast was continental but juice, fruit, toast, bagels pastries available so plenty of choice and plenty of supplies.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,981 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,993 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing