We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Wish I'd discovered this hotel 40 years ago!”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a find! Perfect location, gorgeous views, excellent staff and reasonable charge for an oceanfront room in this great beach town! Owned by the same individual since built in 1974. Staff is caring and professional, hotel is clean and updated; just a lot of bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lake Arrowhead Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 762 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We've been coming to this hotel for years. The location can't be beat, with great beach views no matter where your room is located, although we prefer the 3rd floor. The decor is dated, with old furniture, but our room did have a flatscreen TV and the bed and linens were comfortable. The towels definitely need replacing; they are very thin and worn. However, the balcony views are fabulous and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful and to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast is included as well. We will return!

Room Tip: Third floor is quiet and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badgergirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location all ocean view. Very nice helpful staff. Decor was outdated but very clean. With in walking distance to shopping. Free breakfast. The hall where meeting was had a lot of room to move around. Thank you for a great business and vacation trip

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Mercedesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The room was clean, the bed was soft, the fireplace in our suite warmed up our room after having the patio door opened to feel the cool breeze from the ocean and be inspired by the view! Lots of places to eat within walking distance.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed at the Kon Tiki for one night on a road trip last summer. The hotel in on a bluff above the beach (steps, walkway take you to the sand), all rooms have an ocean view, wonderful. Room interiors a little dated - otherwise 5 stars - but very clean. You have to call for pricing, rates are well below nearby hotels with similar views, and the staff is very friendly. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Wow, we were so happy to have found this place. The views are phenomenal. We had a ground level room that opened up to the ocean and ocean front pool and hot tubs. This is a place that you expect to pay more than we did; this is the best oceanfront value. The rooms are comfortable too as they are spacious with a king and queen bed and plenty of room for luggage. If you need an ocean fix this is it!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just had a very pleasant 5 day stay at the Kon Tiki Inn and recommend it. The room we stayed in was very spacious, clean and comfortable. As others have noted, the view is wonderful. It's a short walk to town (either by beach or street). The restaurant next door (Steamers) is also nice. It was our first visit to Pismo Beach but hopefully it won't be our last and next time we visit, we will stay at the Kon Tiki (all the staff were very friendly and helpful)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank superfine8250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,265 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,838 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing