We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Pismo”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best view in Pismo”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just had a family group of 20 mini-reunion in Pismo. Booked 7 ground floor rooms. Kon Tiki staff was very accommodating making sure we were all in close proximity to each other. Grounds were perfect for visiting and for having 7 "littles" play. Only one family in our group had stayed there before but we will all be back. Sunset was spectacular and we could watch it right from our patio...or the hot tub. The pool was warm enough for all the kids to swim, in January!!! The hot tubs were awesome...love the windows surrounding them that you can open and let the beach breeze in. The 100+ steps down to the beach were not a problem at all. Kon Tiki has to be my new favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdsugoldengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    200
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
201
345
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Staff on phone or in person are very customer focused and pleasant. Room is large with fridge and coffee pot. Large selection at included continental breakfast. Incredible ocean view from all rooms. Heater worked great because it was freezing out. My husband is picky about hotels and he liked it.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have fireplaces for a few dollars more
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in one of the top floor rooms at the Kon Tiki Inn and it was terrific. The view of the Pacific Ocean was beautiful all day but especially at sunset. The room was comfortable. We appreciated that it had a kitchenette so we could eat breakfast and prepare happy hour snacks. This hotel is family friendly. The ground floor rooms open onto a grassy area and out to the pool. When we were there the hotel was packed with families and we enjoyed watching the children below from our third floor vantage point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Pismo Beach is one of my favorite get-away destinations for a long weekend. I had stayed in a variety of hotels along the beach, then I discovered the Kon Tiki Inn. Now I never even consider any place else. The experience starts with an outstanding desk staff. Check-in is a breeze, especially if you've stayed there before. They just print out the paperwork, you sign it, and you're ready to go. The rooms are spacious and very clean, and the beds are comfy. The views are spectacular in every direction. Just sitting on the patio and listening to the waves seems to make any problems and worries disappear like magic. The continental breakfast that is included has a good variety of choices. The restaurant that is on the property, Steamers, is fabulous! I will be back soon!

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors for the view, but if you're traveling with kids, the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Beds were sooo comfy, the view from our room was gorgeous and relaxing plus the continental breakfast was perfect. Easy access to the beach, room was very clean and comfortable. Will definately come back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor for best view even though all rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything is close the beach,a nice restaurant,a market, free breakfast, on-site laundry, did I say the beach just walk down the stairs and you are there friendly staff, pool and hot tub pretty quiet and clean Maid service is efficient and helpful

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Wow...gorgeous view from our third floor balcony! Room is very clean and nice. Love the recliner couch in our room too. Just far enough off the highway to be nice and quiet...and hearing the ocean waves is soon relaxing. Wish I'd brought my swimsuit to take advantage of the two jacuzzi tubs and pool. Stairs right in front lead to the ocean. Topped it all off with an amazing sunset.
This is our new favorite spot in Pismo. We'll be back !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,940 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing