We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

What a great little hotel! Little confusion on check in but soon remedied. We found this to be a convenient stop off for 4 nights after driving from San Diego before heading up to San Francisco. Free Parking was a bonus having already been stung in LA and San Diego. Rooms are clean and tidy - nothing flash but very serviceable. We had ground floor rooms with patio doors that opened straight out to the swimming pool area. The only problem was that the hotel is open to the cliff above the beach and we had a 20 month child who made a beeline every time we opened the doors. If you have young children - may be ask for a 2nd floor but then you have the worry of a balcony. Anyway, extra caution and being on guard was a small inconvenience for magnificent views of the ocean, whales, dolphins, pelicans etc.
Breakfast (bagels, mini muffins, coffee etc) was served in a small room and this was adequate for us. There is a restaurant next door for lunch / dinner called Steamers and we had dinner here twice in our 4 night stay as it was so good. Views of the sun set over the ocean as you dine. Very friendly with children. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location overlooking the ocean
  • Disliked — open cliff top - worry with young child
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rorydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    200
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
202
345
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upland, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

What a beautiful view! You can walk down the beach into town. No problems with front staff, they were helpful and courteous. Rooms very clean and it's a well kept property. Steamers is a good restaurant right next store. Also ate at Rosa's (italian), very good and AJ Spurs in Grover beach, good food, interesting atomsphere. Overall a great experience.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — Small breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippydg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at the Kon Tiki Inn for one night as we started up the coast from San Diego to San Francisco. The view and the sunset were gorgeous. Being up on the cliff made for a nice view and the steps down to the beach were in good repair. We enjoyed a walk on the beach in the morning.

My complaints were twofold. First the room was not as clean as we are used to (as a Hilton Honors member, we usually stay at Hamptons, Hilton Garden Inns & Homewood Suites when we can). Second, the breakfast did not have much variety and was not that appetizing.

Overall, it was not a bad experience, but it definitely could have been better.

  • Liked — The View!
  • Disliked — Not as clean as we like and sparse breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ILnaturetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

From booking to departure our experience at the Kon Tiki was wonderful. The room we had on the 4th floor had amazing views of the ocean. The pool area was clean and well laid out with great views and easy access to the beautiful beach.

The room was simple but clean and spacious. A simple breakfast was included in a very reasonable rate. This place is great value for money.

Try steamers next door for dinner, great fish and a wonderful view of the sunset.

  • Liked — location and value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

The Kon Tiki was a wonderful place to stay, but the staff members were rude and arrogant. I would love to come back, but I could not subject myself or my family to the poor treatment from the manament and staff. The maids and custodial personnel were the only ones who were kind and helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Management & staff (except maids and custodial personnel)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 6531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrism60
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

May, 2008, was our second stay at the Kontiki, both times we stayed with family members in nearby rooms. We had a wonderful time, both times, with the ocean view rooms and the pool, along with the walk way to the beach. The rooms are spacious, and the staff is wonderful. We walked into town many times and had some great food. The Continental breakfast needs some improving (add some cold or hot cereal, please?) but it it still nice that it is included. This is really a place that you want to return to.

  • Liked — The Ocean View
  • Disliked — Continental Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chrism60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We chose this Hotel after reading reviews here at Tripadvisor. Honestly we were not dissapointed. It is in a lovely location, the hotel is very well looked after, the grounds are immaculate and nothing can beat the view from the rooms. The only thing that stops this hotel from getting an excellent review is the below average continental breakfast.

The front desk were incredibly helpful, informing us on check in that our room rate had reduced since we made our booking and they adjusted our bill accordingly. How many times has that ever happened to you???!!!

The pool looked lovely , though it wasn't warm enough to swim yet and they have 2 jacuzzi tubs, one of which looks onto the sunset. There is currently a resident pair of ducks though there was not a sign of bird poop anywhere! The place really is immaculate.

The rooms furniture was a bit dated. My husband complained about a hard bed, but we both loved the recliners that were in our room. The room itself was immaculately clean and like I say, the view was superb.

The breakfast in the morning was a bit poor, a few pastries and some breads that seemed a little stale in a room that was a bit dingy. If this had been the first place we had stayed on our trip, we wouldn't have know that there were much better continental breakfasts to be had. That being said though, all in all I would heartily reccommend this hotel for a stay.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Feebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,975 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,992 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing