We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we stayed here for two nights in September...the hotel was great.... I loved relaxing by the pool, it was quiet, easy to get down to the beach with the steps... we were able to walk downtown to go to a nice restaurant that was recommended by the hotel staff. breakfast that was included was great! clean room with a beautiful view!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jlharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 756 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just sand and surf between our room and the ocean at the Kon Tiki Inn. All rooms look out on the beach! We kept the sliding glass door open all night so the waves could lull us to sleep. Helpful staff, reasonable prices, comfy bed...what more could you want? Several good restaurants within waling distance, too. Make a date and go!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were on a road trip up the Coast Highway and stopped here on the off chance - the view from our room was so fantastic that we stayed 4 nights. The breakfast was included and there was a small laundry room which was really useful. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Can't praise it highly enough.

Room Tip: The first night we stayed on the ground floor but were moved up to the next level which we much pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary15_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The rooms are very clean and spacious. Each room faces the ocean and each has a small balcony. The views are spectacular. The waves washing up on the beach make each a relaxing, pleasant day and evening. A good night's sleep is assured and instantaneous. All amenities were up to par. The inn is within walking distance of restaurants and easily accessible off the freeway. We plan an visitng again soon.

Room Tip: A second or third floor room assures a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger5975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

While the Kon Tiki is one of our favorite places to stay when we go to the coast, this time I found a few things I wasn't pleased with. The Kon Tiki is located right on the cliffs over looking the ocean. Every room has a beautiful ocean view. You can leave your sliding glass door open at night and hear the waves crashing below. It is simply what we go for. It restores us enough to make it thru until we can go again. We have stayed at almost all the other hotels in the area over the years, but always come back to the Kon Tiki. It is priced right, and some of those hotels really make it tuff. In season some are over $300 a night, and up. So, we have come to the conclusion that you get your best deal, and have the best time at the Kon Tiki. It has a beautiful pool with two jacuzies that are situated right in front on the cliff. Basically it is the view though. You can see down to the pier, or down towards Alila Beach in the other direction. The weather can be foggy, but you still have the whole ocean at your front door, and it just doesn't get any better than that, to me.

So knowing all this about the Kon Tiki, my only disapointments were the towels you have in the bathroom. They are so thin and scratchy. Very poor quality, and for a person going out of town on vacation, you expect better. The decor is getting dated to me also. I think updates are greatly needed. Maybe some granite in the bathroom, and have some pretty fluffy towels. Makes a world of difference. Also I don't think our room was cleaned properly. The bathroom wasn't up to par. I found hair on my body after using one of their towels after showering and it wasn't mine! That is not the way you want to start your day. I know we will continue going to the Kon Tiki, for the view and price alone. Just a little incentive, would be nice if they spruced things up a bit. The staff has Always been just wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, so you can't go wrong. We always asked for a higher floor for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank little miss fresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have been to Pismo many times. This was my first time at The Kon Tiki Inn. I really like it here.
Driving in to the place you get the feeling of a 1950's motel. But you will be pleasantly surprised by the back end or beach side. All rooms have an ocean view. The landscaping is beautiful - a pool, two hot tubs and a long wood staircase to the beach. The grounds are well maintained. You can sleep with the sliders open and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean. The sunsets are quite beautiful.
The rooms are a good size with a queen and king in each room. The beds are softer than what I find comfortable. Each room has a balcony with chairs and a small table. Laundry facilities are available for use.
The breakfast is continental - home made waffles, cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast and assorted muffins, juices and coffee. A totally adequate start.
The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The Pismo Beach Athletic Club is just across the driveway and available for use while at The Kon Tiki.
I like it here. I"ll be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank nanita30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we were checking one thing off the bucket list, the Pacific coast highway from LA to San Francisco and needed to stop for one night about half way thru the drive. Pismo beach was a good spot and based on trip advisor reviews we chose kon tiki. Glad we did, even our room on the first floor had awesome beach and ocean views. The price was great too, $133/night including taxes. And as others have said you have to call to reserve, no website or other way to do it online. It is walking distance to downtown Pismo restaurants and a great place to watch sunsets or walk on the beach as long as you do not mind the long stairway to the beach.
Another nice thing about driving the highway from south to north is that you are on the inside lane along some of the step cliffs and narrow winding roads along the coast in case anyone in your group has issues with heights. An added bonus is that you can get up and leave the kon tiki mid morning and visit nearby Hearst Castle, (which is worth doing just for the view), and still make it to Carmel or Monterey for dinner easily. (at least on a weekday).
Room was clean, staff was helpful, couldn't ask for much more at this price.

Room Tip: Even first floor rooms have great views so I would think any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,037 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,252 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing